When Life Plays The Wrong Song

in #poem6 years ago

As one sad soul sat weeping
In her agony over life and loneliness
She spoke to the universe saying,

As a victim, I play the concerto
Of “Why did It have to happen to me?”
The birds are even singing the wrong tune in the wrong key.

Because my heart has been broken and pried open too many times.
And through rose-colored lenses, I see that
Nothing in this world is what it seems.

It’s not the world of fairy tales my mother told me
Where is my Knight in shining armor, where are my wings to fly
Where is my magical sword to wield
Cutting away the darkness, pain, and lies?

God knows I tried to hold my head up
And I did day after day keep showing up
Giving my energies to help build somebody else’s dream.
Now, is there support for me as I create the life I envision?

Again and again, I got it wrong.
Took risk that did not pay
I had pictured that situation
Going a completely different way.

Nor did I know that you were going to say,
“It’s Over.”
I didn’t mean to hurt you
Break your heart and make you cry
Yet that is what I continued to do.

I never saw the day
When the two of us would say goodbye
Yet I stand in sadness and dismay
As I watch you hurriedly walk away.

As I stand in an empty room
I think to myself,
“I thought the meeting was at 4
But the sign on the door
Made me remember that it would start at noon.

One night I tried Stand Up Comedy
But my jokes hit a drought
Before I could finish saying, “Hey did you hear the one about…”
The crowd booed me off the stage
Shouting, “You’re not funny, You Suck!” “ Get Out!”

As I retraced the path
Of my rollercoaster days
The only thing left for me to think
Was that life and I must be out of sync.

With the time I lost
Calling wrong numbers, missing trains, and planes
Speaking out of tune or not speaking when I should have.
Retrospect got me in a reflect
And I see ripples and disturbances my actions left along the way.

I could have done greater works
Like creating a life without strife,
One where others could see
The happiness, joy and beauty in me.
A life where I was at peace and content
Having the power to bless others
As if I was heaven sent.

Somewhere I believe
In a parallel world
This is how I live
Without error
Or without causing pain
And in that other place
I show up as sunshine
And not thunderstorms and rain.

But here
I live in a perplexity of shades
As life slowly fades
I see the world drift on by me
Hiding its face so as not to see
One whose story should have never been told.
As I walk backward and parallel
To a world reflecting an indifference to me

I walk in the darkest nights of my soul.
Living life somewhere

Between midnight
And the Twilight before the dawn
I sat perched in sadness, as I wonder where or when do I truly belong.

Oh universe deliver me and whisk me away to a new life
In space continuum on some far away galaxy.
For which I dream to live and roam
Far beyond this catastrophic construct
Where life is playing, always playing the wrong song.

All Images Courtesy of Pinterest.com

Sort:  

I just noticed this now but congrats on reaching reputation 60! <3

Thank you @reewritesthings, It just happened and I have been celebrating.

The poem kinda described the story of my life... While I pray and wish that the storm will pass, sometimes I feel that maybe, it is too late... Praying for guidance from above & divine strength to hold on and be positive...

Very touching poem...

Thank You @sandralouis for sharing and reading, it means a lot. P.S. It's never too late. You stay strong and stay the course. Concentrate more on the things that you want to happen and give no attention or energy to what you don't want. Try praying again and this time don't think anything that will contradict what you prayed for. Allow no room for doubt or fear. And move on in great expectation (Expect that thing or situation you prayed about to manifest) and anticipation (And anticipate that it will happen or show up.)

Thank you so much for the words of encouragement, @rensoul17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70