Contentment in Thy hands

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

contentment.jpg
ImageSource

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:11‭-‬13 NIV
https://bible.com/bible/111/php.4.11-13.NIV

Abundance might be flowing like a river
Scarcity might be as drowning as a sea
Although these things happen to me
You taught me to always trust in Thee

When the fountain is dried and the soil thirsts
And a scorching sun defiles the land
Though penny can't be seen inside my purse
I will always trust in Thy mighty hand

Even when people succeed in their evil schemes
And have plenty of things that they vainly desire
When they come and take me to follow their dreams
It is more horrible to join them than for me to expire

For what is gain when I lost my soul?
And for what is abundance when I turn to my own path?
What treasure in this world can be heaped by a rich man
Who thinks can put out your coming wrath?

And though in my own heart
This darkness might be crouching
But oh Lord, Thy words are my light
And it shines in me with trembling

The world might continue
To offer such vain prestige and luxurious enticement
But I am fine with You
For You are my sole delight and contentment

So I will continue to walk
In the path that You want me to take
To do things that glorify You
Not for myself but for Your sake

For such a majesty and beauty it is
That captivates my mind and soul
When You offered Yourself on behalf of us
And died on the cross so that we might be free

Free from the bondage and the shackles of sin
And free to have a relationship with You again
Help me hate and loathe such wickedness
And conform me to whatever pleases You

This post was submitted as an entry for @uniwhisp steemotion contest. Feel free to follow and join her latest contest. Here's the link: https://steemit.com/msp-waves/@uniwhisp/carols-of-contentment-steemotion-contest#@realnairda/re-uniwhisp-carols-of-contentment-steemotion-contest-20180409t160947551z

Soli Deo Gloria
•Follow•Upvote•Resteem•Comment•
Original Works
@realnairda

Sort:  

"When they come and take me to follow their dreams
It is more horrible to join them than for me to expire"

What a great line here! When we follow other people's light instead of embracing our own, we become but shadows.

We not only become shadows of them. When we follow the schemes of this world we'll face the judgment of God.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by realnairda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62