Hello Steemians - I wanna entertain you with this Beautiful African Poem

in #poem7 years ago

Wow , I love Poetry and this is a superb poetry in the African Style by an African Writer - I want to entertain true lovers of African Poetry

The Executioner's Dream

I dream, I saw an eye, a pretty eye,
In your hands
Glittering, wet and sickening
Like a dull onyx set in a crown of thorns
I did not know you were dead

When you dropped it in my lap
What horrors of human sacrifice.
Have you seen executioner?
What agonies of tortured men
Who sat through nights and nights of pain;

Tongue-tied by the wicked sapor;
Gazing at you with hot imploring eyes
These white lilies tossed their little head then
In the moon-stepped ponds;
There was bouncing gaiety in the crisp chirping

Of the cricket in the undergrowth,
and as the surf-boat splintered the waves
I saw the rainbows in your eyes
And in the flash of your teeth;
As each crystal shone

I saw sitting hand in hand with melancholy
A little sunny child
Playing at marbles with husks of fallen stars,
Horrors were your flowers then, the bright red
bougainvillea

They delighted you,
Why do you know weep,
And offer me this little gift.
Of a dull onyx set in a crown of thorns?

THE END


Happy Reading, Fellow Steemians

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50