Lock

in #poem5 years ago

Today I found a lock on a winding road
It sparkled and lay with no key
Rusted and aged in dimpsy season
I thought of dropping it off this bridge of trusting
But only loveless rust lie in its future
No locking, and no premonition of key

A quiet noise hinted at a land
Blown sweet with heather and manuka dew
The pollen sweat through our eyelids
Mixing lovingly to digest
In a butter of regal ruby symphonies
A ribbon cut her shirt-tales
Ripped those pieces into organized silk
And forever made her a diamond at her shallow end

Today I carried a lock in my hand
Over these winding country roads
It lay sweating in my hand
Shadowed from the golden sun
I could have left it there
To lie perhaps forever in the rocks
A temptation to lock an unlocked key
Solution bloomed to me like hearts in Avalon

Sort:  

Great poem! Thanks for sharing. I always enjoy reading your prose!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77