A POEM FOR MY GRANDMA.

in #poem6 years ago

“DEAR GRANDMA”

5F6ADAF6-DA22-46A7-9051-2C31865F570C.jpeg

I can write no beautiful poem for you
For all the hardships you’ve been through
From the moment God knit me in my mother’s womb
Perhaps even I am already near my tomb.
I can’t write a beautiful poem for your affectionate heart’s beauty
As much as I can’t be the good boy you dreamed me to be.
You taught me everything as I was growing
Because you believed that it will soon make my life going.

B1F31F45-87A5-4605-9580-A7AC5FA5BBB9.jpeg

You nursed me since my mother left
You were the one who filled the emptiness while she was absent.
I can still remember how you taught me to pray
You told me it’s not necessary to memorize since He is listening anyway to what my heart would say.
You always called me to pray with you the Rosary during October
And until now that memory lingers over and over.

F15C89F0-1C8D-4149-AA8E-9747565591AA.jpeg

Once I saw your photograph in our room
It mirrored the dynamic and bright years that loomed,
Your vibrant smile one would cherish,
And your kindness that would never perish.
Now, your years seem to be passing
That even we frown when we dislike something
Several years ago, you were the one holding the staff for discipline
But now, we do no longer care as if we’re not frightened by everything.
Despite these agonies in your life, you remain calm
I wonder how this silence gives you balm.
Before, it was your hand that was taking mine
To direct my path across the line,
But now, your hands wrinkled by suffering
Are your bearers to keep you standing!

E5081521-5759-4AEF-B6EA-5C14F8CDEB41.jpeg

Since your knees are already frail
That even cause you pain when you kneel.
My heart mourns at the sight of your misery
And it laments more when I can’t do anything to alleviate your melancholy.
It’s true! You are fed well, medicines and all your necessities are supplied
However, compassion is greatly denied.
You eat, sleep and pray alone
While we are rejoicing doing our passion.

A7728D9A-0237-4D79-98DA-E52528A84508.jpeg

Bedroom, kitchen and restroom are your routine places
Our house is already renovated yet you haven’t seen yet the whole changes,
It’s all because of your condition
That until now, we can’t find any solution.
For a number of years I’m in the school or always called by responsibilities to other people,
Until one day I tried to stay at home for a whole day,
And this experience brought me dismay.
Uncle, you and I spent most of the day in a solitary play,
Then I realized aren’t you fed up by doing such thing day by day?

.
.
.

Thank you guys for reading it. This poem is really dedicated to my grandma’s sacrifices, efforts and love to me since I was a kid. I wrote this the night before her 87th birthday.

If you haven't vote your witness yet, please vote Terry now.
He needs our support NOW!
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Other witnesses @rcarter.witness @cloh76.witness @precise @blocktrades @curie

9D9A8DD9-BCF0-41A2-9C75-5D16D2E89C05.jpeg

Sort:  

Great poetry; very emotional ! Nice write up

Thank you bro. I just wanna let the world to know how lucky I am having this woman in my life. She’s really my wonderwoman actually. My hero.

there are hidden meanings in your poetry that filled with loved and maturity. As you express gratitude, authenticity that shows you entity.

Thank you brother!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oscargabat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

V.nice. i liked .keep it up :)

Thank you for appreciating it! It means a lot to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50