A letter To My Late Dad

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

bethany-legg.jpg

I want to write you a letter
That those who cried their eyes out
Who threaten to die with you
On that day that your arms and legs became motionless
That day that words failed you and I
That day that I called your name loudly
But you never answer even when I knew you heard me
They have come back to mock you
They alleged you of simplicity and kindheartedness
They threw insults on your dignity
I am reporting them to you because you know them

I want to write you a letter
That the roof of that polygamous house is leaking
Termites have ravaged the foundation of unity you erected
We may soon be driven into the cold hands of disunity
You said this house must not fall
I am afraid you have gone for too long
When are you coming back?

Least I forget
The democracy you longed for
We have had it
I am certain this democracy is not your dream
The political elites have no shame
They are reaping and raping the masses
It has become a master servant relationship
The only difference between what we had then and now is the absence of the iniform

I want to see that effortless smile on your face again
I want whisper things that are not meant for the third ears into yours
Did you see your last wife among the three?
She has followed your footstep
We are no longer fourteen boys, now thirteen
Your four girls have become women today

I want to write you a letter
Tell me how you felt inside that wooden casket beneath ground?
warmth?
cold?
Uneasy?
Why did you succumb to that coward?
This dude is cheat, I warned you long ago
For long we have shown him too much respect
I have had bitter encounters with him
The coward ran away because I was going to kill him
He sneaked around with a club in the middle of the night
Looking for who to maul, even children do not escape his sadism
Since he chooses a battleground unannounced
I have chosen to wrestle him anytime
Once you conquer fears, he runs
He is neither invincible nor invisible
Because salvation triumphs over him

I have no fears nor doubt in my mind
That one day, I will see you again
When? I do not know
I have this consolation that I will not die in vain
Salvation has remained my solace
I want to write you a letter once you reply this very one.

Photo by Bethany Legg on Unsplash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79