MOTHER'S GOOD-BYEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poem8 years ago (edited)

In April '2002, my family and I stood at my brother's bedside as he took his last breath. Roger died at the VA Center at age 51. Minutes before he took his last breath, my Mother spoke to her son. She said "Roger, You were a special son. Don't worry about me. I'll be OK." With that said, our nurse left the room in tears. Later that day, my Mother asked me to write a poem for Roger (actually, she kind of told me to do it). I was thinking "Oh, my gosh! How's this going to happen? Can I do this?" I didn't want to disappoint my Mother. She was so heartbroken. I was in a state of sadness. How was I going to pull this off?

Everyday thereafter, I thought about this request from my Mother. Everyday that passed was another day that I would put it off. Then it was crunch time. It was the day of the funeral service. I sat down on my sofa in the pre-dawn hours. The only sound I could hear . . . . the chirping of the birds. I sat there . . . . I quietly sat there some more . . . . then the words just came to me! They started to flow onto the paper. It only took about 10 minutes to complete.

I have always thought that a Higher Power guided me to write those words that morning. 'Amazing Grace' . . . . that was the song choice that I had requested to play at Roger's service. I believe that 'Amazing Grace' may have already begun to happen . . . earlier that morning. 'Amazing Grace' may have helped me to write Roger's 'Send Off' poem. 'Amazing Grace' may have helped me to provide some comfort for my Mother. 'Amazing Grace' may have helped me to write those words. I must have had help at such a tragic time.

I read that poem for my Mother, and for my Brother, and for Everyone attending his funeral service. I was choked up, and it was hard to get the words out, but I managed. Roger's 'Send Off' poem. . . . Surely, my words provided some comfort for my Mother. After the service, I put the original poem into Roger's pocket. I gave my Mother a copy and I kept a copy for myself. It reads as follows:

'MOTHER'S GOOD-BYE'

Dear Son,

I do not want to let you go
But nothing can be done
To make what's happened go away
You are my special son.

Mother's love will always be
Guiding you with care
For you will never be alone
Your Mother's love will be there.

The moment you were born
You became my special son
But what I gave to care for you
You have multiplied in return.

Now I have to let you go
To soar above the clouds
And share your love with 'HIM' above
For there can be no doubt . . . .

For where you are
You truly belong
I have to let you go . . . .

The time has come
For you to be
'HIS' very special son.

Love Always,
Mother

P.S. Don't worry about me, I'll be OK.

Sort:  

Thanks for writing this, it's fantastic!

This was a wonderful thing to do for your mom. I'm certain she appreciated the heartfelt words and their truth. I am so sorry to hear about your brother's passing. Even nearly 15 years later, it must be difficult. I still grieve my dad and my 'little mommy' (a favorite aunt).

Beautiful, thank you! Amazing Grace is also an incredible movie about ending slavery in England. The man that wrote the song plays a prominent role.

You are welcome and I am glad that you liked it. You are right about the Movie. I saw it, too. The Captain on that voyage sure had a life changing trip! And an inspiration for a great song!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82