Blind (An Original Poem)

in #poem8 years ago

Blind

alone-971122_128004a44.jpg

I was born with eyes that can't see

the beauty and magnificence of the world
around me

I do know what lies
ahead

I cannot see what I'm
being fed

I have never seen the
colour of the sky

In fact, no colour has ever
reached my eye

What then is colour,
so different and unique

Why should dark colours
make us feel hopeless and
meek?

I have never seen a
sunset, nor the sun so
bright

nor do I even know or
understand the concept
of light

So what is the light thing that
brightens our days

and warm my skin
with its hot summer rays

I have so many questions
of these things I cannot
see

I do no understand how
these words can even be

words like draw, imagine,
mirror, photo and pretty

can never breach my
mind-no matter how
witty

I don't understand art
museums - all those glass
boxes are art?

and what's the good of a
map if you cant see its
chart

all I know is smell, sound,
and feel

how do I know that my
presence is real?

Why do I travel when I
step inside a car

how can aeroplanes make me
go so far?

what does smile look
like?

or how about a sunset, or a
television or a bike?

people always have
questions for me

how can you walk, eat,
and sleep, if you can't
even see?

people have so many question
of a blind person's plight

but I have more question on
what it's like

to have sight.


Thanks for lovely picture, Pixabay

Thanks for all support, Follow me @mindfreak

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52