Mother's Waiting (a poem)

in #poem4 years ago (edited)

Hi and happy Mother's Day!


image.png

Mother's Waiting

My children are far off
in distant lands.
Their hands I shall not hold.
Their brows I shall not kiss.
The hissing sound of memories
of merrier times now passed
it's all I am to keep.

I'll weep and then I'll smile,
for they are better now,
or they should be, I think.
I'll wait up all the while,
until good fate and love
should meet to send them back
and bring me ease and joy.

Someday when there's still light,
I'll hear their voices clear,
and feel their heartbeats near,
so close as close I might.

image.png

The current quarantine has separated mothers from their children. Young men and women travel to other places in order to study and work and make a living. Often they go home to visit their parents and other relatives and friends. Now they must stay where they are, deprived from the opportunity to be with the people they love and who are part of their growing up. This has been the reality for many mothers who have seen their sons and daughters leave their homes to go other countries, other continents sometimes, to fight for a chance to build a future for themselves and even for others who are younger or less fortunate. This has been the reality of many Venezuelan mothers; and it’s become a cliché but one that hurts every day anyway. Not only our children risk their affections but their own identity.

image.png

Thanks for reading poems.

image.png

Images:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78