Ashes And Dust (an original poem)

in #poem6 years ago

You tried your best
You gave it your all
To break me down
To break me apart
Your indentured guest
No reprieve, no moment to rest
Ashes to ashes; dust to dust.

Cracked but not broken
Scarred but no longer flayed open
My healing wound; my healing heart
My life to live; my cross to bear
Future days free of care
This is my fresh start
Ashes to ashes; dust to dust.Relief given by outstretched hands
Prodigal return to loving and loyal lands
Pulled out of the sinking sands
Shells molted and swept away
Guarded and protected behind my crested shield
My boogeyman now kept at bay
Ashes to ashes; dust to dust.You thought you were here to last
You thought you were here to stay
You thought I was gonna always be
Your puppet to manipulate and sway
Cat and meek mouse
Forever your toy with which to play
The joke is on you even as you taunt the cowards way
My days and my nights
Now light and gay
Ashes to ashes; dust to dust.

photo by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63