My Sister's Hero

in #poem7 years ago

A poem based on a true story between my sister and me. It's been a few years, but I still remember it pretty clearly.

2000px-Золотая_звезда_Героя_России.svg.png

There are many definitions
of what a hero could be
And from my sister’s description
that hero could be me

You see my sister needed a kidney
back in nineteen ninety-five
And if it wasn’t for me donating
she wouldn’t be alive

I really don’t feel like a hero
it’s just something I had to do
But I do get a warm sensation
when she tells me, “I love you”

Sort:  

I know two people who donated a kidney to complete strangers. That is the most unselfish thing one human being can do for another.

I agree. From my point of view, my body doesn't feel any different, but having my sister still around makes all the difference in the world.

Thank you for the reply!

Very cool poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50