The Heat of the Moment

in #poem6 years ago

I wanted to show a few people one of my free verse poems that I recently did. It's a new form of poetry for me, so I'd appreciate any feedback on it.

--

As I near my final destination,
I feel a fire burning in me,
something I’ve never felt before.
It feels as hot as melting steel.
It’s like the fire has consumed me.
Nothing can be done about that now.
The mission must be completed.
My mind is questioning all my actions,
but my body surges forward.
I know this is something I want,
something I need.
I have waited for my entire life
and the time is finally here.
Don’t mess it up.
I am capable, but am I ready?
Will it be wet, will it be dry?
What of the aftermath?
Too late for doubt, the time is now.
I feel the pressure and even more heat.
Now I am done.
The results satisfactory.
My first real kiss is complete.

--

fire heart.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnwjr7 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For a first timer, you did awesome! I love how you lead the reader!

Thank you. That was exactly my intent. I have 3 or 4 more on my page. I think only 1 more in the style of this one though. It's called "Stepping Across". It might surprise you more than this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37