The Graveyard for Young Love

in #poem7 years ago

The Graveyard for Young Love

After the euphoria,
Always the crash.
And would I do it again?
Oh but I will.

Let's start again.
Let's spin our dreams together,
Let's ride the waves of joyous delusion,
Til again it crashes.
Let's pretend we're tilling the seeds of our future
Til again we cast out our memories
And bury them in graveyards for young love.

As I sit upon the tomb once again
I can hear the sound of dampened laughter underfoot,
The distant nastalgia, fading and buried deep.
It's the sound of young hope being sobered by the weight of reality.
It's the sound of joyful illusion breaking under the density of the truth.

And as I leave the shores of the graveyard
I know it will beckon me to return.
After sailing onto the sea of love,
I will await it's waves to embrace me sweetly
Then drag me down again.

After the euphoria,
Always the crash.
And would I do it again?
Oh but I will.

fri_clcem.jpg
Art by Caspar David Friedrich

Words by Jake Kobrin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18