STEEMIT VIRUS CONTEST #3

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @Steemit-virus,this is the first contest am taking part of on steemit.
IMG-20170904-WA0002.jpg
Image source:pinterest

POEM
Am living a double life,
The one I shouldn't and the one they choose for me,
Pretense and sorrow is my feast,
Pain is planted in my vain,
My tomorrow is nothing to look forward to,
I don't know who I am anymore.

Am imprisoned,
Falling to the unconscious world,
Hiding failure that built inside,
Am alive but dead,
Smile never visits the grave of my face,
Darkness have become a friend.

I am my own prisoner,
I built this wall myself,
The monsters that torture me were once my pet.

On the outside am seen as a legend,
Cheered and loved by all,
The inner me is not even worthy of my slave,
I no longer enjoy their praise,
I should bounce back but here I am,
My life is no longer my own.

Who would come to my rescue?
The walls are becoming thinner
The silence louder,
The only one that can set me free is me,
But my hands are bound in chain
handcuffs-2202224_1920.jpg
Image source:google.com

This life of misery I could resist,
If only I stand for me.
I think my poem have brought the picture to life a bit,let me explain further my take on the image.

The lady has gotten to the climax stage of living for the society, the stage where it's now a loss loss, you aren't happy,you feel like loosing it,you know you shouldn't be doing it,but you have gone too deep to pull back.

Then comes the self imprisonment, you lock up yourself and take life the way it comes, your inner self screams for rescue, the regret of not going for what you really wanted haunts you,you aren't at peace but don't want to give freedom a try. You fear what would happen if you set yourself free, you feel it's too late to make the right choice.

A lady that married the man the society admires instead of the one she loves,a guy that goes for high class profession instead of his passion,people that act up to meet the standard of a circle of friends and so many others are instances that could lead to this.
images (1).jpg
Image source:google.com

I agree with Salvatore,we are all guilty of this at a point in our life,this image portrays us all. My advice to me and all is to break free.
IMG-20170825-WA0010.jpg

Sort:  

Great article dearie

Nice one dear.

Ur welcome dear

I love your poem and he interpretation of the image.
And that's from one competitor to another!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 66997.36
ETH 3681.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77