THE CROSSROADS - An Original Poem

in #poem8 years ago

And finally I arrive
at the infamous crossroads.

The crossroads
of choices, of life.

To go right or to go left?
To go virtuous or wicked?
To become a saint or a sinner?
These are the questions.

I ponder over them
as many have before me.

Some chose without thinking
others spent their whole lives thinking.

Am I one of the former
or am I one of the latter?
The only thing I know for sure
is that I will never truly know.

One path lacks the luxuries
while the other empathy,
one lacks thrill,
the other safety.

One leads to destruction
while the other to...

And then it dawns upon me...

In the end, it all
comes down to you.

Since the dawn of time,
it has been the fate of man
to be the creator
of his own fate.

It isn't impossible
to become a saint
from a sinner.

And thus, I depart
on neither path
but on a path
that I create step by step.

It is up to me to decide
where this path will lead
to my destruction
or to my ascension.


Source: 1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50