A Return To Intimacy After That Time We Spent Apart

in #poem6 years ago (edited)


All those days we were trying to get better together, but we were doing it on our own. When I look back at the foolishness it brings a familiar touch of regret. In know they say don't live life with regrets, and that's not the thing I do. But to never recognize the shameful past leads to a future without you.

These feelings come and they pass just as fast cause I know now to drop my guard. I lean on you and I expect you to do the same. We didn't come this far together to be holding up separate walls underneath the same popcorn ceiling.

I know that it's you but for all I can see, I can only do my part. You dream of a life that's better for us and you push for it with all your heart. Sometimes I feel in this reversal of role that it's barely working my dear. And I'm learning to follow your lead all the time. There's a reason I think I know best, though I'll never know what it is.

And this change has been hard on us. I know you do agree. When you put financial security aside in favor of a brighter tomorrow, it's never an easy thing. It drives me nuts some days to think of how much further we could have come in the time we've been together if not for my stubborn ways. Somedays I still don't know how in heaven we are even still together.

I just want to say and I know you need to hear that I love you my wonderful wife. All this time we've shared together, the good times and the bad throughout the many years, I've always loved you. The ignorance of days gone by is something we both have learned from, and I guess we needed to be together yet still apart.

The return to each other in the past few months of body and of mind has also not been easy, but it is a dream revived. Perhaps that's the reason the Phoenix has to die before rebirth occurs. It's symbolic and poetic and I don't give a damn. That's what a true man is and does when he knows the woman he loves, and he knows that she loves him.

Tomorrow night I'll shine my love, but not as bright as you. Our first night out under the lights in quite some time, and I'm your biggest fan. It's so comfortable in any crowd to be with you. That's just how you make people feel. But tomorrow night you'll be with me under those blinding lights. All dressed up, I can't wait to see. And to be with you. Just to be with you again.

Follow @inalittlewhile For More Better Blogs & Hope You Enjoyed The Rambling Poem

Images Courtesy Of Pixabay.com

Place The Top Content On Steemit On Your To Read List By Following The @steemitbloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

I love this piece sir, you portrayed your thoughts of love even to its basic form of friendship which is a building block for any relationship.

Thank you sir. :)

Ahhh... even the best of us struggle at times. Even the most loving people have trouble at times. I'm glad you're finding your way to what is truly important. This spoke to me on many levels. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks @byn. I know it but I sure appreciate hearing you say it.

A little free write action here. I should probably join the group. :)

I feel so much love from you in this poem.
To find the understanding with each other is not an easy task, cherish the one you have just new found, and love will stay forever strong.

Thanks Rose. That's the best coaching I could have hoped for today. I'm gonna do my best to follow your advice. She truly is something wonderful. :)

Blessing to both of you!

I know how it feels to draw confidence from another person in a crowd. He/she makes you feel like you can conquer the world because he/she was your first and only conquest that truly matters. I love this piece. #Following

Hi @ronyxoxo. Thanks for sharing. She definitely is the best. :) #followingback

Thanks for the follow back. ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71168.96
ETH 3851.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52