Can't Stand This Atmosphere (Original Poem)

in #poem8 years ago

Another poem written by me a good few years ago. It's about listening to your parents argue and how rubbish it can make you feel, looking back it is also a little exaggerated!

Can't stand this atmosphere -
The future is unclear
Welcome in inner space
Rejected in this place
I sit, silent scared
I sit silent, scarred.

Is it anger against me?
Is it anger against you?
What's the issue beneath the lies?
What's the issue scrutinized?
The subject could be me.
The subject could just be.

I shudder at the tone
I listen to the moan.
Words I may not want to hear
Words I may not want to fear.
The look will reveal all
The look I will befall.

Is it fair to listen in?
Do I dare to listen in?
The conscious is uprising.
Emotions are despising.
Dreams of a childhood shatter.
Dreams that no longer matter.

Dare not show my face
Dare not show my disgrace.
Tensions are rising
Glances are incising
Can't stand being near.
This place hold no cheer.

Image: Pixabay

Poem by:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22