Journey with me

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

Journey with me into a world of fancy,

my dreams of a different reality.


Let me guide you along an endless shoreline, 

and a still, icy sea with a silvery shine.

Here powdery snow swells to windswept dunes

and glows in the light of three solemn moons. 


Now soar with me past rocky heights

up vast looming walls of perpetual white.

To the gnarled, dead remnants of a lonely tree

gazing yearningly over the icy sea.

Its lost source of longing no one can know,

not the cliffs, not the wind, not the sea down below.


Out past the tree sprawls an empty plateau 

that only remembers cold and wind and snow.

Where moon-colored lakes lie frozen since ages bygone

Unthawed and untouched since a primordial dawn.


But let me now guide you up a solitary peak

bare and wind-blasted, snow-crusted and bleak.

A harsh jewel in this dim cosmic light,

its memories numbed by the cold endless night.


Now look up above, to the sphere of the stars

--fixed and unchanging,  observing from afar.

Behold also the moons, and their otherworldly gleam

Who has ever seen them, but dreamers of dreams?

But they are the givers of this melanchology light,

for they keep the vigil of this neverending night,

ever watching, never forgetting.

Sort:  

Nicely written, well done man.

Thanks for the compliment! I didn't realize this post might show up for Gridcoin people too, but hey, even science nerds are allowed to have an artsy side, right? :D

I hope I got the translation right:
In science, we have a diction that say "All physicists are mathematicians ... but not all mathematicians are physicists", and I think that this idea apply to both of us 8D.

"All nerds are artists ... but not all artists are nerds"

For Science.
cat.jpg

Thanks for the journey! I enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39