An ancient Chinese poem

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

Dedicate this small ancient Chinese poem to my most respected and dearest American husband who is in heaven now!

When reminiscing about the honey-sweet time spent with my late teacher/husband in the past few years, this small poem floats in my heart suddenly.

I firmly believe the best medicine is our lover, marriage is the most happy thing in the mortal world. With love, we can always change and create the world. But where is my lover now? How lonely and helpless and melancholy life is without you!

曾经沧海难为水,除却巫山不是云。
取次花丛懒回顾,半缘修道半缘君。

After experiencing the magnificence of the ocean, all other sources of water seem inferior;

After witnessing the incomparable clouds of the magic mountain of the fairies, all other clouds are of no significance.

I walk through the flowering shrubs hastily, without feeling like to look back and enjoy their beauty;

Partly due to self-cultivation(learning from Buddha), partly due to you--my lover. (Your absense takes away all good things in this mortal world.)

P.S. Another English translation version:

          In memory of the departed

Having once been to the sea, no other waters would one seek;

If not on Mount Wu, nowhere could a worthy cloud be. (Mount Wu, situated in Sichuan Province, is noted for its fascinating cloud. It is said that on Mount Wu there is a goddess and the cloud there is the incarnation of her.)

Nevermore will I turn my head to appreciate the flowers,

Partly to cultivate my mind, but partly for thee.

(Dear reader, Which translation version do you like most?)

Sort:  

nice poem..............

this is me cryptowise1 i love your post

Thank you! Welcome to Steemit!

plz i need more explanation to be able to introduce to my friends in nigeria.

How lovely! 💕💕
Very nice to meet you
Best regards
Tom

Thank you so much, I am really glad that you appreciate this small poem.

Beautiful! The stitching, the writing. :)
 

Beautiful poem. I hope that you will share more.

Beautiful poem. I liked the first version best.

Thank you for telling !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36