TODAY IS NATIONAL PISTACHIO DAY!

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

image.png
Image source

image.png

Today’s poem highlights the benefits of eating pistachios.

Oh, wondrous Pistachio,
The benefits you bestow.

I crack open your shell,
My hunger you do quell.

Loads of nutrients, you do pack,
Making you a healthy snack.

As for my cholesterol,
You improve it over all!

You lower my 1 AC
Making me smile with glee!

You’re a favorite nut,
You help reduce my butt.

So, to you I say, hooray,
On your National Holiday!

image.png

Pistachios are a great healthy food. A serving size of shelled pistachios is about a half a cup. A serving is only about 160 calories. 120 of those are from fat, mainly the healthy fats. The polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats which help improve your cholesterol.

Pistachios are nutritionally dense. They contain potassium, calcium, iron, thiamin, vitamin B6, phosphorus, copper, magnesium, and manganese. All of which help your body do its job.

So, enjoy some pistachios today and every day. Your body will repay you in the long run.

Do you enjoy shelling your own pistachios or do you buy them pre-shelled?

image.png

More FREE Upvotes:Steemfollower

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Congratulations @emergehealthier! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by emergehealthier from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Haha, love the poem dedicated to pistachios. I didn't realize they were so healthy. Packed with lots of good nutrients. I don't care much for the taste. Maybe I should give them another try?!

I'm glad you enjoyed the poem. I write one almost everyday for the National Holiday. Some are better than others. If you do get the ones in the shell. One study found that if you have to shell them yourself you on average eat about 40% less than if you just but a package without the shells.

Oh, I love pistachios. Great to know that they're so healthy. Thanks for educating me about that.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Om-Nom-nom
I can not pass by such a tasty thing.

I'm in the same boat as you, they are my favorite nut!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60