Remember Him? Don't Cry.

in #poem6 years ago

My first post after introducing myself. Hope you enjoy it. And I am also open to any corrections you have concerning my use of language or poetic license;

Let It Burn

IMGIMG_20180615_130136_772.jpg

Have you ever loved someone so beautifully that you forget yourself in believing it was all going to last forever? And when it all ended, you just had to learn to forget so you can ease the pain and let it all go? Well, I have and it was not a funny experience. I wrote a poem about how I felt and I know you can relate with it;

He turned his back against me.
I stared as he told me goodbye.
all I could see were the nights, the days,
I had skimmed that same back,
the same body....
and soon,
I found my cheeks wet.
As he walked out the door,
I remembered the day we met;
how I never thought someone could melt my iced heart,
until he told me 'hello'.
In the empty room,
I realized I could not let go,
the dread of loneliness pushed me forward,
out the door,
to my love.
He turned, gesturing 'No'
Yes!
How can I let you go?
How can I let you walk out my life?
Then what else does my heart beat for?
You taught me the art of laughter
turned my lips into rubber bands,
stretching anytime you came to mind,
and appeared in presence.
How can I forget,
when we made love in ice cream,
the walls could not even keep our secrets.
The world heard me moan how much love you made me feel.
I felt your smile lift me up
when crumbling was my destination.
Do you remember?
Kissing in the rain,
and those particular days,
when you promised never to let me go,
or leave me cold,
when I shivered in your arms
and your heat warmed my soul.
What do you say now?
I reached you for a tight hug, smiling,
and expecting it was all an act.
Your chest hit mine hard,
but your words hit me harder,
A thunderbolt has never shocked me as much.
"Let.
It.
Burn."
And you walked away.
Never looking back.
Not even once.
Goodbye my lover.

Sort:  

Congratulations @egbawrytes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23