Better Maybes

in #poem6 years ago

nature-sky-sunset-man.jpeg

Maybe it's better than the way I want it to be,
That you had never set your eyes at me.
I never had to look for your stares everyday,
And I would never see the stars as you, twinkling for me.

Maybe the fact that I was one-sidedly loving you was better,
Because I'd know that it hurts if I had fallen deeper,
It would've been too absurd to continue pretending to be a happy soldier,
And rather be foolish for containing a love you'll never go after.

Maybe it's better that you never became that perfect woman,
So I'll never look for someone like you when you're gone,
So I don't have to hope for a love that is too hurtful than having no one,
And I'll never hear the tear-jerking phrase, "I think we're done".

Maybe seeing you love someone else too much was better,
That you knew for sure you only need him,
I never had to try too much to become the best man,
And I dont have to stop my stomach from having butterflies and whirl.

Maybe, just maybe it's better that you never loved me,
That you never ever put up special feelings for me,
So I dont have to look for you if I wake up dazed and lost someday,
So I don't have to come running back to you coz I know there's no place for me.

And finally, maybe it's better that we did not end up together,
That I never became your lover.
I never have to be soaked into your pouring love rain,
So that if you decide to stop the downpour, I'll never shiver with the fever of pain.

Image Source

DQmX3b4BJC94UjjvKDwbUrdi52mHKqh2VzGSTM9qGyPstor.jpg
DQmQV4SQrDWBpDrAECJYXSRFWUyausWS7MaC5sUi1oefww8_1680x8400.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92