Love Makes the Difference

in #poem7 years ago

"Yesterday, i connected with a new friend on FB. After accepting his friend request, i embarked on a tour of his profile page. Written on there, as his favourite quote, was one that goes as follows;
''There is nothing wrong in me, that cannot be corrected by what is right in me''.

I pranced around his page for a few minutes, logged off and shut down. But for some inexplicable reason, that quote lingered on my mind and in my head.

This quote got me thinking very deeply about my own 'wrongs'... (one in particular kept bugging my mind) and the battle i constantly face, in trying to correct this 'wrong' with the 'right' in me. I was then forced to review a very recent event that occurred between myself and a very dear friend of mine.... and how just a little bit of heart, would have made a world of difference.

After much psychoanalysis and mental backing and forthing, i came to the realization, that as human beings, try as hard as we may, we can never be perfect or totally without 'wrong'. At best, over time, some 'wrongs' may gradually diminish, but may never completely go away. We are like diamonds; each piece with all it's sparkling brilliance, is different from the next, yet never entirely flawless.

What makes the difference between citing and acceptance of a person's 'wrongs', is this thing we call 'LOVE'! Love enables us to see not only with our eyes, but more so with our heart. As such, though we may not necessarily be blind to the other's fault, we are able to look beyond it and appreciate the entire package. Love is that thing which allows us accept and accommodate each other, faults et al. Love gives us the liberty of mind to realize a single idiosyncrasy (or two), do not maketh the entire being.

My child is adorable, but occasionally gets into trouble at school... do i love him any less or disown him? No! Everyday of my life, i commit sin after sin against my Creator... has He struck me down? Not yet (at least)! Why then as human beings, can we not try to practice and extend similar measures of love in our relations with each other? Why can't we see the cup as 'half full' rather than 'half empty'? Why do we expect perfection from the next person? Why do we choose to cite each other's flaws, rather than focus on the sparkling brilliance?

Let our love for those close to our hearts, be the factor that motivates us to aspire to attain that point where the 'right' becomes the norm and the 'wrong', the fluke. Let us try to see the sparkling brilliance in one another.

To you all, my friends, family etc.... You are not perfect and you kid yourself if you expect me to be! Undoubtedly, you occasionally display some 'wrongs', which irritate and annoy me, and i bet my last dollar, that my 'wrongs' sometimes get under your skin too! We vent... it is okay! But through it all, i have not (and will never) loose sight of the fact that, 'you are me' and 'i am you'; i love you regardless and would never trade you in for anyone else!

Keep the faith people and let 'love' spur us to greater heights of understanding, acceptance and collaborative effort to uncover the better 'you' and 'me'. - Yinka Balogun ©
copyright

1517638_10201212340972221_639360305_n.jpg

''Love is enough, though the world be a-waning,
And the woods have no voice, but the voice of complaining,
Though the sky be too dark for the dim eyes to discover,
The gold-cups and daisies fair blooming thereunder.
..... Love is enough!!!!''

  • William Morris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46