Jury Duty - The Daily Limerick #42

in #poem7 years ago

So I missed a couple days of the #dailylimerick...

farmto table (19).jpg


That's because I had Jury Duty, the best excuse for everything!


I had to move my work schedule around to be available, but I never expected it to turn out the way it did. Lemme break it down for you. First thing in the morning, 60-70 potential jurors gathered in the courthouse. We were waiting for the jury selection, from which six jurors would be chosen. My odds were pretty good...


A couple hours later, I found myself sitting in the jury box with five strangers being sworn in for a criminal trial. At some point during the proceedings, I wrote this limerick.

I Wish I could Play Violin (3).jpg


It really wasn't that boring. I was interested pretty much the whole time and I took pages of notes. This case, which seemed simple at first, put all the pressure on the jury. It was our job to interpret the law... With one interpretation, the defendant is guilty; with another, she is innocent. These were tough, philosophical questions.


The deliberations were more intense than I could have ever guessed. We were pretty much deadlocked 3 to 3 for four hours. It's a miracle that we were able to come to a unanimous decision, but some of us undoubtedly compromised some of our convictions to arrive at that decision. It was a sad evening. I'm sorry for being negative, but I have no positive way to spin this thing. But here's another limerick!

I Wish I could Play Violin (4).jpg

judging.png


Thanks for stopping by! Do you have any experience with being on a jury? I'd love to hear about it!



Sort:  

Why executioners wore hoods. Separate your personal self from the one forced to carry out the rule of law.

Sad but true. I have a feeling that it takes a special type of sociopath to be an executioner.
Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58392.35
ETH 2462.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37