There Shall Be No Final Act (A Short Poem on Life)

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

sea-1101168_1920.jpg


There shall be no final act

No curtain call or last extract

No final chance, no last hurrah
No last call at the bar

They will not ring a warning bell
For you to say your last farewell

You will not get to put things right
Once your ship comes into sight

No chance to right the wrongs you've done
Or make amends with anyone

The time we have is all we get
So live your life with no regret


This is one I wrote a while ago, but still love, it is part of a pair, the other is called There Shall Be No Rise and Fall. Every now and then I write a little spurt of poems I love, like tapping a gemstone vein in the slate rock. This one comes first, and is about making the most of the life you have, the other is about a life well lived. It is easy to get caught up in what you are doing, and not have the time to enjoy the experience.

Every moment blooms and dies in an instant, such fated beauty. Nothing can last, and yet this, the perpetual death of the moment, adds greater contrast to, and highlights the depths of, the beauty and joy that bloomed there.


Image Credit [https://pixabay.com/photo-1101168/]

Sort:  

I suddently had no words to comment so ...

Thank you so much! <3

Wonderfully constructed and carrying a word to the wise. Beautiful spiritual write, Calluna.

Thank you, this pair mean so much to me, so I really appreciate your words :)

I have always been an advocate of living an "electrifying" life full of energy...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

I like it really well and think it a great message and reminder. :D

Thank you very much :)

I'm here, commenting, even before I know what to say, cuz this is how I roll ;)

Lol, this is how you roll, one handed while typing? :p

Actually, ya, like even now, my right hand is occupied by a Newport lol Though I did give up halfway through, and use both thumbs for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71