I Stand Alone...

in #poem6 years ago

IMG_20170524_155846.jpg

I stand alone atop this hill
Looking out at what once was
And is no more
The bustle and hustle of every day
Faded into dust
Paths forged by footsteps
Overgrown and long forgot

I stand alone atop this hill
Where many stood
And stand no more
Where life flowed and flourished
Then trickled away
Leaving houses and homes
Just piles of stones

I stand alone atop this hill
Where the silence deafens with absence
Surrounds you and swallows you whole
And if you listen, if you really listen
You can hear them
The chatter and swell of daily life
Echoes of what was, and is no more

IMG_20170524_154837.jpg

IMG_20170524_154759.jpg

This is a poem I wrote a while ago, I love visiting ruins, treading in the footsteps of our fore-bearers. I have a few favorites, and this is one of them, a neolithic axe factory. Radio-carbon dating suggest that this site was active as an axe factory between at least 3,650 BC until about 3,050 BC, after this the stones were used to construct cairns and small holdings. It has a direct line of site to one the the most important Iron Age hilltop forts in the area and is believed to be a site of importance to our distant ancestors. It is hair-raisingly magical here, when the clouds set in, you feel like you could slip back in time. It is like you can almost hear the rhythmic knock of stone on stone, flaking and chipping the axe heads into shape. We spend a good few hours here when we went last year, and sifting through the stone and slag piles, we found what is unmistakably a rejected axe head, a gift from those who came long before!

Photos by me, apart from the one of me, very patiently taken by @johngreenfield when the clouds were just right!

Thank you very much, I really appreciate everyone who takes the time to stop by!

Sort:  

You look rather conducive on that hill...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

I was trying to summon the clouds, sort of worked! :)

Wow what a lovely poem.
Fantastic words.
When we are on these type of places we want to Alone and enjoying the quietness of these pleaces .

Thank you so much, that is exactly how I feel :)

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.47% vote... I was summoned by @rball8970! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Thank you muchly @rball8970

A great cleansing write. Always a pleasure and delight to read your words, Calluna:)

Thank you very much :)

nice poem,,,,,,,,,,

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60