Is this real life? My first ever poem attempt!

in #poem7 years ago

I've recently discovered my interest in poetry. I've decided to make my own poem, focused on how depression affects people.

"Is this real Life"

Walking down a path,
going with the flow,
Is this real life?
this I do not yet know.

The pain that shows...
The agony that grows...

Is this real life?

Walking down a dark road,
blinded by light,
darkness overthrows,
set into depression mode.

The pain that feels...
The agony that steals...

Is this real life?

Walking into Shame
building strength
Overcome by weakness
Depression is not a game.

The pain that cries...
The agony that dries...

Is this real life?
Is this real life?
Is this real life?

Thank you for checking it out. I know it could use a lot of work, but I was feeling poetic and thought I'd share :)

Sort:  

Thank you!

Thanks for sharing it. I'm a depressive, so can certainly understand where you're coming from in this poem. It's a hideous illness.

Yes it is. Sometimes you won't even notice your own depression, it's crazy :(. From bad sleeping to bad appetite, feeling empty... I've been there many times. As long as we can keep the positive things in life to encourage what we do to help find meaning in life. I wish you much happiness, depression is no joke:(

Thank you, I wish the same to you. I try to create for myself a world which is pleasant, but sometimes the darkness finds a way of creeping back in...and those are the times when I wish I could just shut off my mind.

Yeah, I feel you :(

I have been there many times as well. It is very difficult to deal with and your poem describes the feeling perfectly. Thanks for sharing your poem :)

Yes, and it's very tough when it comes. Keep strong! Wishing you happiness :). Thank you

Same to you. Thanks @burnedout :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46