Tombs

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

If you could look in my eyes 

and see the pain I've held in disguise 

would you cry? 

The pain you've caused, messing me up 

tearing me to pieces,

 constantly calling on Jesus to save me, 

to help my reckless empty soul. 


But to you I was just another person 

you held no consideration. 

You wanted to create your own haven (I don't blame you for that). 

But in the process you tore down lives that had souls for homes 

 but now those homes are houses - empty. 


I'm sorry that I ramble - it's not my intention. 

But I have to mention how we're all trying to be infinite 

When we all know - nothing's definite. 

We're all just insolent.

 That's why we've caused so many bridges to burn - 

 we're all just empty tombs - trying to find life in ghost towns.


                                                                                                       S.C.

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Beautiful poem! I see this being very big in spoken poetry. The rhymes and rhythm really work well! Well done, and thank you for sharing!

PS: If you are interested and have some spare time, I have some poetry on my blog too. :)

Thank you so much! I appreciate it and will definitely check your blog out!

You're welcome! :)

Congratulations @binarie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80