THE DEATH OF MY COUNTRY

in #poem6 years ago

images (1).jpeg

In the past, my country
cradled me in her bosom.
Today, i held her in my arms
felt her slip away.

I lost my country today
gave her up to synthetic drugs
deficit spending
and pie-charts, overseas

I prayed while watching attempts
made to resuscitate her.
Impatient leaders held out pens
Prodding me to sign the necessary papers

The world is on lithium,
my country was on lithium
for her once vibrant colours turned
into a monochromatic spectrum of greys
In the end, heart gave out
from having spent too much decades
In a corrupt cage

She had an organ donor-card
her organs were sold off one-by-one
While she was still alive
Her organs were replaced with
Lies and deceit.

Men from every corner
groped her body,
many men had laid with her
Oh, how they did.
Aleast some men displayed decency
graced her with loving caresses
they were few, between the rape
that led to miscarriages
and live-birth of degeneration

I will have to give her a proper burial
within my heart
for they are going to have her embalmed
and put on for display.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by biggijay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85