A Debt is Due - A Poem Inspired by Doki Doki Literature Club

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

I’ve recently been inspired to re-open old wounds.

It’s been a while since I’ve thought of them. I’m curious to see if they still feel the same.

I look inside and see nothing.

It’s been years. Surely, they would’ve healed by now.

I can’t look away. This isn’t curiosity anymore, I’m entranced.

Images of their faces begin to appear.

Their tears feel so real. Their cries so vivid. Their voices echo.

The sounds start to bang across my skull. My spine rattles.

I want to look away, but now I’m paralyzed. I continue to gaze inside.

I still see nothing. I feel so hollow now.

How was I not aware?

It hurts. The pain swells as I claw at my skin.

What I thought was reconciled, was only buried.

Now the debt is due. The guilt has taken over, and it wants punishment.

WHY DID I DO THAT TO THEM? WHY DID I BREAK THEIR HEARTS? I PROMISE MY INTENTIONS WERE GOOD! I ONLY WANTED TO MAKE THEM HAPPY! I DIDN’T WANT TO HURT THEM, BUT I DIDN’T WANT TO LIE.

I’M SORRY!

I’M SORRY!

I’M SORRY!

i’m sorry. too little. too late.

Sort:  

Hello, I like reading this poetry it was amazing time spending on your blog post. I also write poetry check mine also.

Thanks! I will definitely check your poetry out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66