Have We All A Thing In Common

in #poem7 years ago

A Brain's Drug

My poem “A Brain’s Drug” is an extended metaphor about a procrastinator’s life and how they feel about procrastination. The video shown above is a multimodal representation of my poem (“A Brain’s Drug”). The main aim/message of my poem is to make its readers aware, how procrastination is like a drug and that people should not procrastinate. I have incorporated many elements like footage, music, sound effects, text, and voiceovers into my multimodal adaptation to help enhance the poem’s, mood and message.

One of the most effective elements that I included in my multimodal were sound effects and background music. These non-verbal elements played a big role in setting a mood for my video. The mood is a very important aspect of my poem as it helps to intensify the words being said which help in keeping the audience engaged by making the atmosphere tense and also helps them understand the poem better than before because they now know the mood that is supposed to go along with the poem. “Leaving most sorrowful”(5) in this part of my poem I put a sad and gloomy picture accompanied by a thundering sound effect which helps establish an emotional mood. If used correctly sound effects can be a very powerful tool in videos.

Using expressive voices that vary in tone is also a very impactful technique that I used in my multimodal poem. I used several voices throughout my poem, some were downcast, some were cogent.”Leaving most sorrowful”(5) on this line of my poem I used a downcast voice, in contrast in other parts like this: “Do it NOW!” (23) I used more compelling voices. Tone helps a lot in creating emotion and makes the audience sympathize with the poem. Therefore tone (expressive/varied voices) can be very handy when you wish to convey a motivational message.

Footage/images are a very useful element that I included in my multimodal. Images help the audience visualize the poem by presenting them with images that connect with the poem. Images make what is happening in the poem easier to construe. The images in a way give hints to the audience for what they are supposed to be visualizing and help them picture what the author pictures. I use images throughout my multimodal to keep the audience engaged and to help them picture what’s going on in my poem.

In “A Brain’s Drug” I have incorporated sound effects, expressive voices, and footage/images to help the audience understand my poem better and also to have a strong impact on the audience. By utilizing all the elements I utilized in my multimodal, I was able to centerpiece the message that people should not procrastinate because procrastination and drugs, in fact, have a lot in common.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56