An Inspiring Poem Dedicated to Students with Autism ✍️

in #poem4 years ago (edited)

image.png
Picture Source: https://images.app.goo.gl/HEPxZs6afKW2hbgx5

'I Am Certain'

The day when I was brought into this world,
I still remember it vividly,
You were in tears, mother,
Those teardrops were happy ones,
I am certain.

The day when I turned three,
You invited your friends to our house,
You asked me to play with their children,
But mother,
I wanted to play alone.
I wanted to be in my quiet room.
I wanted to flap my hands repeatedly.
I wanted to spend hours spinning the wheels on my favourite toy vehicle.
As all these things made me feel,
Calm, occupied and entertained.
But all these things made you feel,
Concerned, frightened and worried.
I am certain.

The day when I was brought to see a doctor,
I still remember it vividly,
You were in tears again, mother,
But this time,
Those teardrops were sad ones,
I am certain.

I am sorry, mother,
Because I am the cause of your tears,
But don’t you worry, mother,
Because I am going to tear down people’s bad perspectives towards people like me,
And prove to them that I can be successful too.
Of this,
I am very certain.

Therefore, mother,
Please don’t give up on me,
Because I am certain that I will be able to turn those sad teardrops to happy ones, again.

Written by: Aida Kamilia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86