Spending Time Wisely (Part 1)

in #podcasts6 years ago

Time is the one non-renewable resource we all have, and routinely squander. This entry will be the first in a series covering my suggestions on how to spend you time to make the most of your limited lifespan.

We all spend our time on one of 4 main areas: family, friends, health, and work. These areas are often depicted as a stove/range with each area represented by one of the 4 "eyes" on top. Your time is represented by the gas burned at each eye... the goal being balance --- if you expend all of your fuel on the work "eye" then you won't have any left to focus on your health, family, or friends.

There are countless distractions that easily consume our time... movies, video games, TV shows, etc. There is nothing wrong with entertainment. Consider it a necessity to mental health (because "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy"). But I would encourage you to spend your available time wisely on the "right" entertainment --- the books, movies, and podcasts that you will benefit from spending your time on.

For Part 1 in the series, I'll first address audio. I think it's important to listen to some music each day. I listen to music every morning for about 20 minutes while I'm in the shower. While I workout I listen to podcasts (or audiobooks when I'm caught up on podcasts), and I usually listen to audiobooks or podcasts during my commute and on road-trips.

Because I work in information security, these are the podcasts I regularly listen to:
1. SANS Internet Storm Center Stormcast [each weekday]
2. Daily Tech News Show [each weekday]
3. The Cyber Wire [each weekday]
4. Malicious Life [weekly]
5. Darknet Diaries [weekly]
6. Let's Talk Bitcoin [weekly; not all of the shows carried on the LTB network, just LTB]
7. Radiolab [weekly]
8. Planet Money [a few times each week]
9. 99% Invisible [weekly]
10. Hidden Brain [weekly]
11. Freakonomics [weekly]
12. Ear Hustle [weekly]
13. The Joe Rogan Experience [only the episodes that don't have a comedian or fighter as the guest; I prefer the science discussions]
14. The Time Ferriss Show [about monthly; a new episode drops each week, I just only listen to about 1/4 of them]
15. More Perfect [occasionally]
16. Revisionist History [occasionally]
17. Peter Attia's "The Drive" [weeklyl]
18. Found My Fitness [occasionallly]
19. The TED Radio Hour [occasionally]
20. Invisibilia [occasionally]
21. Mil Money [occasionally]
22. ChooseFI [occasionally]

Sometimes I get burnt out on the podcast feed and just stick to audiobooks, but I eventually return to the list above. I've gotten used to listening to podcasts while I work out, prepare breakfast, and do household chores. I prefer the audiobooks during longer commutes, road-trips, and long-distance runs.

Regardless what you choose to listen to, I hope the content benefits you and enriches your well-being or appreciation for life.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65669.27
ETH 2668.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87