Be the Show Podcast – Uncovering the Personalities behind the Posts (Episode 1 @aksinya)

in #podcast7 years ago

be_the_show.jpg

For some time, I have been developing the idea of creating a podcast which focused on capturing the personalities of the creators behind some of the content here on Steemit. The human connection between creators and fans has been missing here on Steemit. Book signings and conventions (such as Comic Convention) offer creators and fans that opportunity for a more human and personal connection in the conventional world, and I aspire to capture some of that with Be the Show.

A community needs to connect and creators need engaged fans.

About a month ago, I took some of my earnings on Steemit, and developed a small studio in my basement with the intention of creating this podcast. Guess it’s time to be the show.

“Be the Show”

Sometimes I wonder if the spirit of PT Barnum secretly follows me because I’m a great mark. Through most of my life, I began to dread audience participation shows. Whenever I would hear the words, “I’m looking for a volunteer,” invariably I was always chosen.

One night, I was visiting a comedy club in Orlando which was packed to capacity. When my group got to the door, the usher looked at the four of us and asked us to hold on while he checked the floor for seats. When he returned, he pulled back the curtain, looked at me with a snarky grin and said, “I’ve got some perfect seats just for you.”

He took us right up in front of the stage to four seats perfectly carved off from the row. I swear it looked like they were under their own spotlight. At that moment, we all looked at each other and I shrugged my shoulders and asked, “Why watch the show when you can be the show?”

Special Thanks to @aksinya

I’d like to offer a special thank you to @aksinya for being my first guest. Not only does it take some courage to be the first guest, but to agree to an interview in English, when your native language is Russian deserves special mention.

Episode 1 - @aksinya

aksinya.jpg

I had a chance to sit with Aksinya about two weeks ago to interview her on the final day of the Festival of the Drums Worldwide on the River Volga.

I first met and befriended her early on when I joined Steemit and featured some of her posts in a Hidden Gems series I used to run. Aksinya was just at the point of giving up when I featured her work on a regular Hidden Gems series I ran on my blog. Fortunately, she chose to continue creating content, and her persistence paid off. After being a featured author a number of times on Curie, she focused her efforts on challenges and contests within the art community here on Steemit and has become a bonafide social influencer in the community.

In the interview with this self-identified aspiring mother, artist and wife, we dive into how she came to Steemit, the art challenges she developed here on Steemit, her current hobbies, her husband @beertripper, the craft brew scene in Moscow and much more.

Future Interviews and Episodes of Be the Show

Are there other people in the Steemit community you’d like to hear more from? In the comments thread, let me know who they are, and I may feature them on future episodes.

After all, why watch the show when you can be the show?

Sort:  

Some of the Steemians I'd like to hear on the podcast:

@dragosroua
@eveuncovered
@fyrstikken
@jesta
@maxigan
@stellabelle
@sweetsssj
@yoganarchista

:)

@anonimnotoriu thanks for reading and sharing your suggestions. I appreciate it.

I hope you took some time to listen to the podcast with @aksinya. She's quite a unique personality which is a tremendous asset to the Steemit community.

Let me see what I can do about your wishlist for future installments.

Yes, I listened to the podcast. I really enjoy @aksinya's art contests. Hope you continue with the podcast, maybe even upgrade it to a video version. :) It's an excellent way for people outside Steemit to get a feel about what Steemit is about.

@anonimnotoriu As I've never done a podcast before, I thought I'd start with audio and work up from there. I have been putting together plans to eventually move it into the realm of video.

I'm looking to build this into a regular series, so I'm currently chasing the next set of interviews. Sometimes coordinating schedules across different countries and time zones can be a bit trying.

This comment gets a 12.50 % upvote thanks to @anonimnotoriu - Hail Eris !

listening to the podcast it was great

@cityslicker thanks for taking some time to listen to the podcast with @aksinya and dropping a comment. I appreciate the support.

If you have not checked out her blog, I would suggest you take a some time to look it over . She has some great art history pieces in there and some contests to join as well.

nice post ,,, you have good blog , Good luck. Comrade

Many thanks. I have a new respect for recording engineers after the endless editing.

You are doing a very good job of connecting creators and fans. I also liked first episode of @aksinya. I will read all content of this author. Thanks.

@shirish5 thank you for reading, listening to the podcast and commenting. I appreciate it.

I would strongly advise checking out and following @aksinya. She has an excellent blog focused on art, art history and art challenges.

Excellent post keep it up......

@sanks7 thanks for dropping by to read and comment.

I hope you took some time to listen to the podcast. @aksinya is one of my favorite bloggers here on a Steemit. Check out her art contests and give her a follow for some truly unique and awesome stuff.

Am now following you thanks to @cryptogee's post about us. Looking forward to exploring your blog and seeing your future posts :-)

Nice Blog !! loved it.

@blazing thanks for taking some time to read and comment. I appreciate it.

@aksinya is one of the first people I met here on Steemit after I started having some success. She's by far one of the more approachable people here in Steemit and Inwould encourage you to follow her and compete in some of her contests.

i am already following her,she is a nice person i love her post too :D and i lost missed in a recent contest by some minutes but it was worth enjoying :D

Loved hearing the Interview nice work @lpfaust

@steemphotography Thanks for taking the time to read, listen and comment. I appreciate it.

I have to say @askinya was such an awesome person to work with. Not only was it a situation where English is not her primary language, but I have never done a podcast before. I''m very pleased with the end result and I think she is fr too critical of her English - it's awesome.

I'm chasing down some more interviews to begin cobbling together a regular series. The Steemit community has so many diverse personalities and talent which I'd love to feature. Wish me luck with this new project.

Wish you all the best for Be the Show,it was nice hearing the podcast

@starving thanks for taking some time to listen. I appreciate the support.

Thinking I need to work on the format a bit, but I am looking at making this into an ongoing series. All I can say is wish me luck.

Maybe a podcast about Papa pepper?

@dlina-v-metrah thanks for the suggestion. Definitely something I will consider pursuing for a future edition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50