[Podcast] Who wants to be a billionaire? (not me)

in #podcast7 years ago

grand-canyon-1084047_1920.jpg

I hadn't realized that somewhere, deep inside me, I had expected to become a billionaire someday.

I said to myself, "I'll never be a billionaire," and a wave of relief washed over my body. I suddenly felt comfortable with where I was, and where I was going.

I explain more in the latest episode of my podcast, Love Your Work.

Sort:  

I very much agree with this - also great little show - I listened to it whilst I was getting ready this morning and having my coffee.

It inspired some further thoughts for me.

I suspect that being a billionaire has it's own billionaire problems that most of us peasants aren't even aware of.

I forget where exactly I saw the study but it was based on surveys of happiness plotted against income and it found that when people get out of poverty, their levels of happiness tend to go up as their wealth increases but stop increasing once income gets beyond a certain level.

The actual point where that happens varies from country to country and in some cases going beyond this point actually leads to more unhappiness and greater stress.

Don't quote me but the level varied from about $20K in developing countries up to about $100K or so in more developed (and hence expensive nations).

It seems that there is a certain level of comfort that we need to have but having money beyond that may have an isolating effect and introduce other types of mental and emotional stresses.

When you are super wealthy I think you have to be quite wary of other people having a "gold digger" mentality.

I'm not sure it would be fun to be constantly second guessing if your friends and relatives were only there because of your money.

Depends in which currency

The currency is Zim dollars:)

Lol. I have been to Zimbabwe once before the hyperinflation. 100 zim dollar could buy a bottle of water

What a great article. Followed/upvoted/admired. Thanks!

I really want to be a billionaire , my friend

Ooh ..... when it happened

If you dont want your place at the billionaire table can i have it?

I wouldn't mind being a billionaire for a day, enough time to pay debts ofd pay the mortgage off, book a holiday for the next 10 years and buy everything I need, happy bunny lol

If you mean a literal 10-year holiday, then... Don't need a billion for that. You likely don't even need more than about 5 million, actually (as long as you don't go overboard with constant 5* hotels, private jet flights, and 5 luxury cars)! ;) If you will maintain more or less your current level of spending x 2 or x3, then even 1m will suffice for 10 years.

LOL no I mean a luxury holiday once each year for 10 years :)

i am comfortable with excess money - it is a trap -i followed you though to see more good sense posts - David

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84