Your Weekly Podcast Recommendation! Episode 1!

in #podcast7 years ago

Welcome to my first Episode of Weekly Podcast Recommendation!


A bit of back story... I work in a small factory and I am blessed by being allowed to keep my headphones on and listen to whatever I want for 90% of the time. I had enough of the radio, had enough of the music... Don't get me wrong, I love music but it isn't that entertaining if you are listening to it 8 hours a day while working a highly repetitive job!

I decided that I wanted to use my time in a better way, a way that helps me improve myself, learn new things and keep my brain active! I discovered Podcasts! My god, I knew they existed, but I never thought that listening to someone talking for hours would be that entertaining, fun and in a way challenging!

This is why I've decided to start this small weekly blog post series, I wish to get more people to listen to Podcasts and I'm hoping you guys will find my suggestion as entertaining and inspiring as I did!

So without further ado, I present you my first pick!

History of Rome

(link to Spotify show)

This is the first show I listened too and it just hooked me! I've listened through all of it in a matter of weeks and I just wanted more.
The series started over 10 years ago and is still regarded as one of the best history podcasts available. The author Mike Duncan, does a marvelous job at explaining the whole context of the roman world and, even if you do not have a vast knowledge on the subject, you will be able to follow the narration and be immersed in a world of war, politics, sex and chaos (Game of Thrones is nothing compared to the crazy stuff the Romans used to do). His voice is very clear so much so that even if English isn't your first language, you will be able to easily understand it and he always adds a bit humor which helps keeping things interesting.
You will learn the history of the Eternal City, from it's foundation to the end of the Western Empire. There are 179 episodes, most of them between 10 to 30 minutes.
Oh and that simple intro music just won't get out of your head for a loooooong time!

So what are you waiting for??? Go, NOW, LISTEN TO IT!!!! And don't forget to let me know what you think, as I am preparing to listen to it all over again!

You can find more information on the podcast and the author on the History Of Rome Website, the episodes are available also on iTunes and most of the other podcast providers.

I hope you will enjoy the show has much as I did, SEE YOU NEXT WEEK!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39