Podcast Recommendations: What I listen to when I'm not producing Life, Experienced.

in #podcast6 years ago (edited)

In January 2018, I began podcasting.


podcast-3696504_640.jpg

Image created by Positive_Images. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

It wasn't much at the time. Just a weekly summary of things we had going on over in @thesteemengine group.

Of course, I don't have to dwell on this topic very long. You can check out the project by scrolling back a bit on my blog or by visiting the playlist over on YouTube.

Since then, I've begun producing Life, Experienced, which you can find all the recent episodes wherever you get your podcasts. Here's the playlist of the current episodes on YouTube.

Podcast Recommendations

The purpose of this post is to share some of the podcasts that I personally listen to that have inspired me to focus my creative efforts on producing my own. If you're a fan of podcasts, I hope you'll take the time to listen to some of these.

Stuff You Should Know

Image description

Image created by geralt. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

This is the first podcast I listened to multiple episodes of. I downloaded a podcast app to my phone, selected a few things I was interested in, and the app recommended Stuff You Should Know by HowStuffWorks.com.

If you aren't familiar with HowStuffWorks, they're actually one of the most popular podcast networks around. They publish many shows, of which Stuff You Should Know is one of the most popular.

In the show, two guys, Josh Clark and Chuck Bryant, host episodes about a large variety of topics. Each episode focuses on a single topic, such as narwhals, recycling, or homelessness. Josh and Chuck research each topic beforehand, and then record an episode where they discuss the findings of their research.

Each episode is very informative and Josh and Chuck have developed great ways to talk about topics as to keep them interesting.

I consider this a "gateway podcast." Listening to this show can open up all sorts of other possibilities.

If you want to check it out, head over to their website to listen, or search "Stuff You Should Know" in your favorite podcast app.

Pessimists Archive

optimism-619018_640.jpg
Image created by novelrobinson. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

I discovered this podcast not long after listening to Stuff You Should Know. It's another well-researched, informative show hosted by Jason Feifer, the editor of Entrepreneur magazine.

Each episode features an enlightening look into what life was like when various inventions were first introduced.

For example, some of their episodes are about electricity, the Sony Walkman, coffee, and vaccinations.

The show features interviews with experts from across the country as well as interesting information and primary sources. If you want to learn more about what it was like when these common items were introduced into society, head over to their website to listen and subscribe, or search "Pessimists Archive" in your favorite podcast app.

P.S. One of my favorite episodes so far has been the one about "Recorded Music," so if you're looking for a good place to start, that's the one I recommend.

Freakonomics Radio

money-2724235_640.jpg

Image created by nattanan23. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

This summer, I finally got around to reading Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner's bestseller Freakonomics, which examines several topics through the lens of economics. I highly recommend giving it a read, as it's very thought-provoking and interesting.

Since publishing Freakonomics and several other books, Stephen Dubner has produced Freakonomics Radio, a podcast which examines some of these same topics. It's a fascinating show that has covered a variety of topics such as tax law, the finances of an NFL football team, the World Trade Organization, and many more.

If you enjoy economics or just hearing about how things work behind the scenes, Freaknonomics Radio is a great podcast to listen to.

Listen on their website, or search in your favorite podcast app today.

The Dream

dollar-2091742_640.jpg

Image created by 3dman_eu. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

Produced by Stitcher, this new podcast is an investigative look into multi-level marketing organizations.

If you've ever seen people you know begin selling "direct sales" products, hosting parties in person or on other social media, or you've grown tired of other social media posts about these products, I encourage you to take a listen as the hosts and producers of this podcast go inside the world of these companies.

This is an ongoing podcast that I tune in for each week. It's been really fascinating look into these companies and whether or not they're good for the people who choose to sell their products.

Get it on Stitcher, or search in your favorite podcast app.

Reveal

newspaper-154444_640.png

Image created by OpenClipart-Vectors. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

If you enjoy investigative journalism, you can check out a variety of topics from RevealNews.org. I've only recently begun listening to these, but they are definitely well-produced and well-researched.

This is especially relevant for United States residents, since most of these topics have to do with events in the US.

I recently listened to some episodes about how universities spend their money and where criminals get firearms. Both were very interesting, and as this show has over 200 episodes, I've got a lot of catching up to do.

Listen on their website or search in your favorite podcast app.

Unobscured

club-2492011_640.jpg

Image created by qimono. Used under a CC0 1.0 Universal License.

Another new addition to my podcast listening schedule, this podcast is produced by Aaron Mahnke, who is famous for the Lore podcast.

Unobscured's first season has been a very fact-filled look at the Salem Witch Trials. It seeks to demystify the social and political atmosphere in Salem, Massachusetts in the late 1600s that led to the hysteria around witches.

Aaron does a fantastic job presenting the information, and I'm looking forward to hearing the rest of the episodes as they are published this fall.

Final Thoughts

I hope you'll take the time to listen to some of these podcasts if you're looking for some recommendations.

Podcasts are out there for almost any topic you can imagine. Just download a podcast app or do a search across the web. And if you can't find one that you like, perhaps you can start your own!

Feel free to let me know if you have any questions or would like even more recommendations! I'm happy to talk about podcasts, and I hope you'll consider adding my podcast to your regular listening regimen.

Thanks so much for stopping by to read!

Sort:  

I signed up to Life, Experienced on Pocket Casts,and I binge-listened to some of the episodes when I was doing my first ever mountaintop wild camp a few weeks ago. It helped take my mind off how cold I was!
The Unobscured podcast sounds interesting. I like historical themes.

Thanks so much for subscribing to my podcast! I appreciate you listening each and every time! I'm glad it helped you get through the cold weather on the mountaintop! I hope that trip went well!

Unobscured has been great so far. I'm looking forward to the entire season and whatever is planned beyond that.

The trip was amazing, and surviving that cold night made me feel I could do almost anything! I have bought a warmer sleeping bag now though.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 112 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 290 (10/23/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81