My Top 5 Favourite Podcasts

in #podcast6 years ago

I often see people posting on Facebook for podcast suggestions. I thought I would share my five favourite podcasts (all images from iTunes or the websites of the respective shows).

1. The Tim Ferriss Show

In his own words, Tim Ferriss' podcast "deconstructs world-class performers to extract the tactics, tools, and routines you can use". This podcast has been a long time favourite of mine and I really like the long-form interview format. There have been all sorts of guests, some you will have heard of and some you will have not. Whilst there are some interviews that you would not be surprised are excellent (the Jamie Foxx episode is a standout and won an award) I have found that even those of people I haven't heard of and from areas that I didn't think would be all that interesting (say Japanese knife making) are still very interesting.



2. Freakonomics

The Freakonomics podcast is hosted by Stephen J. Dubner and follows a similar path to the book of the same name, "exploring the riddles of everyday life" through the lens of economics. The podcast will take a topic and interview multiple authorities including academics and other experts in the area. The episodes are typically 30-50 minutes long which gives enough time to dive into the details. I really like Dubner's interviewing technique. He has an inquisitive nature and a way of asking questions that elicit detailed responses. He also provides a narrative that joins the interview segments into a well structured and enjoyable listen.



3. Stuff You Should Know

Stuff You Should Know was one of the first podcasts that I ever listened to. Hosted by Josh Clark and Charles Bryant, who are both writers for the HowStuffWorks website, the podcast examines a wide range of topics in a light-hearted and non-technical style. It has been running since 2008 and now has over 1000 episodes. Although this was originally a podcast I listened to when commuting, I introduced it to @mslillypilly and it is now reserved for times when we are both in the car together, particularly on road trips. We will often spend time pausing the podcast to interject with our own stories, anecdotes, and when it is in our area of expertise, the occasional correction.



4. School of Greatness with Lewis Howes

As you can tell from the title, this is another podcast that interviews high achievers to hear their stories and find out how they have got to where they are. Howes is a former professional athlete who now refers to himself as a "lifestyle entrepreneur". Although many of his guests aren't the big names that appear on the Tim Ferriss podcast, Howes still manages to find a wide range of interesting guests to interview (and more celebrities as he has made a name for himself). I really like how enthusiastic Howes is in his interviews and how wide-ranging the conversations are.



5. 99% Invisible

The final podcast is one that I have only just started listening to. It edges out the honourable mention, another Stephen Dubner podcast called Tell Me Something I Don't Know. The 99% Invisible podcast normally focuses on a single person or topic and looks at elements of design and architecture that you would often not notice. For example, one episode interviews a movie set designer who focuses on the design of paper based props (books, newspapers, passports, letters, maps, posters, etc). It was fascinating to hear about the research that goes into the design and how story and directorial decisions can influence the design and building of a prop.
Sort:  

Dear Lyndon, you have amazing taste in Podcasts!
There are all excellent. Out of this lot I always listen to Freaknomics first, and then 99% Invisible and then Tim Ferriss, but they really are all great. I've learnt so much, podcasts really are the best. They make 2 hour drives just so incredibly easy.

I like them for the commute to work too. I don't have a particular order, it depends what I'm in the mood for.

I used to enjoy the Tim Ferris podcast but find that he’s just too heavy on the monetisation these days. The constant plugs and affiliate stuff just takes too heavily away from the actual content.

It would be nice to see Tim move back to the old style where there were a few advertisements but they didn’t dominate the content.

Thanks for the heads up, I'm only familiar with Tim's podcast and am always looking for new ones to listen to - I've seen these all in the top of the podcast app but never listened to them. Time to binge some episodes in my morning run. ✌🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95