Episode 9 - Day Job to Dream Job

in #podcast7 years ago (edited)

https://soundcloud.com/briana-okane/ep-9-day-job-to-dream-job
or iTunes
https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/casual-adulting/id1183037006?mt=2

Hi hi! Episode nine is out guys! This is the first episode where I actually am talking to someone, and that someone is my boyfriend Zander. It was so fun to have him on the podcast, and definitely fun to not be just talking to myself. In this episode Zander and I talk about becoming your own boss, and how to go about monetizing your passions.

We've all had or have jobs that we don't totally love, but it can seem impossible to do something else. Becoming your own boss can feel a little scary, you're giving up financial and schedule security, while also putting yourself out there in a way that can make you feel vulnerable. When creating something, whether it's a business or a creative project, it's just you. You expressing yourself and showing the world who you are, which can be totally scary! So, Zander and I talk about how to start the process in a manageable way, from a financial, scheduling, and emotional points of view.

The episode covers how you don't need to quit your day job to work on your passions, or start your own business. Goals, and good financial planning, are truly what create a strong foundation for taking a leap into the unknown. We also talk about the importance of long and short term goals, and how those fit into coming up with the inspiration and execution of becoming your own boss. Zander and I then talk about success, what to do when you fail (which you will), and how to overcome naysayers. So if you've been wanting to start your own business, be your own boss, and try to monetize your passions, go give episode nine a listen! I would super appreciate if you guys would head on over to iTunes and give us a rating and review. It will help me make the podcast better, and do episodes on info you guys want to hear. So give me some feedback, ask a question, let us know what's on your mind! You can also go to our website casualadulting.wordpress.com and drop us a line too. Thanks in advance!

Before I forget, here is the link to Zander's family business. This will take you to their Facebook page where you can check out some of the art Zander mentions in the beginning of the podcast. https://www.facebook.com/watercarvedcreations/

P.S. I know it's annoying to have to click the soundcloud link to listen, but the when I put the embed code it nothing shows up so, for now this is how it's gonna work :)

Sort:  

Sorry I'm a day late on this...so hard to keep on top of everything here. Last week I got to enjoy your last couple podcasts. Giving this one a listen now!

I think the issue you're having with the soundcloud directly showing is that it needs the embed code versus the link. To make this happen, just click the share button in soundcloud, select embed (which is at the top of the window that opens) and copy/paste the code it give you there which starts with < iframe >. It'll put it right into the post for you...I tossed it in below for you. (I can remove this if you prefer it not to be shown.) I've been a part of the @steemittalk podcasts for a while on here and don't wasnt you to have to learn it all the 'hard way' like we did.

Keep up the great work!

Thanks for the listening support!! I super appreciate it :)) I've been using the embed code, but it just loads a blank white space. It works on my other platforms so I don't know what's going on with this one haha. Thanks for taking the time to reach out to me about it though, no one likes to learn the hard way! I'll be sure to give the steemittalk podcast a listen too :)

Absolutely!
Heh, that's strange. What browser do you use? I've seen some behave strangely..I typically use chrome myself. Did the one I embed in my comment show up for you?

We did give your show a mention a couple episodes back (you'll see the title include 'other podcasts') to try and get you a bit more exposure on here. :)

No, the one you embedded in your previous comment didn't show up for me! I use Safari. I've heard it's definitely no the best browser, but I haven't tried any others. WOW!! Thank you so, so much!! That is so kind of you! Also, thanks for your help with this embed thing :)

No problem, happy to help out. Give it a try with chrome, it's been the best for me. Steemit can be somewhat picky on browsers.

Feel free to ask if you have any questions or problems. :)

Awesome! I'll do that, thank you you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51