My Pocket Confirmer Bot

in #pocket7 years ago

Have I been replying to your pocketsend transactions lately? Are you trying to figure out if I'm a legitimate pocket confirmation bot? Well, I'm going to address those questions in this post.

Why do I run it?


I started my own confirmation node just as an experiment. Being a tech enthusiast and programmer, I found the Pocket project really interesting. I resteemed the genesis post to get some of my own Pocket, which I still haven't used.

Why not just create a different account?

Mostly due to me being pretty lazy. It builds up my reputation to some extent, so I thought why not?

How am I running it?

Initially, because I was just experimenting, I ran the bot on a linux virtual machine on my Windows laptop. It wasn't very efficient since my laptop was on only for a few hours a day. I don't think I even fully synced the pocket database on that virtual machine. I now run the bot on a server that I've rented out from @privex. That way, I'm able to confirm pocket transactions all day long.

But isn't that going to put you at a loss?

Not really. I have other programs running on that server, some of which are steem-blockchain related while some aren't. I make my profits from those programs. Remember, being a pocket confirmation bot is not profitable by itself because of the low price of these tokens.

If it isn't profiting you, then why run it?

As I've said before, its just an experiment. If you've read my transaction confirmation message, you may have noticed that I include a line 'I am a confirmer bot for fun'.

Here are some screenshots of my server:

In short, Yes, I'm a legitimate confirmation bot for Pocket Tokens.

Sort:  

Cool. I have been experimenting with a Linux virtual machine and I am interested in learning to code simple python code. Would starting a project like this be feasible for someone that has never coded and barely used Linux? I am a quick study and I can quickly figure out most things.

Starting your own pocket confirmer bot is as easy as launching an application.
It should be quite easy, and you don't need to know any code.

Cool I would like to try. Can you guide me to any instructions or a guide?

Check the announcement post here: https://steemit.com/pocket/@biophil/pocket-announcement. You will find everything you will need to gets started

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sqamemal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

pocketsend:50000@sqamemal, thanks for keeping up with the bot! You're a great help to POCKET. This is a share of the tokens I bought a couple weeks ago on the bitshares exchange using an author reward.

Successful Send of 50000
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: sqamemal
New sending account balance: 1059902
New receiving account balance: 1050268
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: a86526ca6535a5e3718ff17f3342d9a2a06f95c8
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun, view my source confirmer code here. Don't know what a POCKET Token is? Here is a link to the official announcement post.

Thanks philip, I hope to help the pocket community in whatever way possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82