SteemQuest : Meet the players / core rules / Join us

in #playbypost6 years ago

SteemQuest is an RPG boardgame that is played by a growing group of players. It is played in a #playbypost format. This format has the game master do a daily post and the players reply with their actions for that turn.

We are currently in Alpha testing right now. Alpha testing means we are still working out any problems with the core rules. When we move to Beta we will be focused mostly on balancing, very little core rule changes. So while in Alpha expect entire sections of the core rules to be written, new sections to appear, whole concepts eliminated etc....

To support players for playing and helping with the testing I will be upvoting each players turn. I just ask If the players are enjoying themselves to please upvote the daily post as I am powering up all earnings from SteemQuest to grow the account.

Here is a line up of our current players:

F6BF5A09-D3FF-41BD-AAA0-A1F432D759EF.jpeg

They are played by the Steem accounts of @loreshapergame @happyme @wren1221 @sidekickmatt @ejgarcia @aussieninja @norwegianbikeman

We make character cards for each player. Here is a card:
22B5AFD2-394E-465F-BF24-39DEA030FCF8.png

We use the same format to create monsters:
17EDE1CB-7B19-4DB8-BBE9-22F5D3CB737B.png

[New Players]
SteemQuest is an ongoing and growing RPG world here on Steem. New players are always welcome. Players can come and go as they desire, just let us know when you are leaving (say you are taking an IRL 2 week vacation) we will make sure your character is somewhere safe until you return (or Thunk may just cover you with leaves on the side of the road)

If you are New and want to join just reply to any active post with a character. I will create you a character card and add you in. We will now move into our core rules. Within you will find all you need to create a character and join us.

82CBE02E-3DD0-43E3-A825-D33192D8F263.jpeg

4D15516B-2D20-4AC4-8AB8-57F9B7F84377.jpeg

Empowered missle [1 mana] - your missle is charged with magic, for each mana you spend it does +1/4 heart damage additional damage
Bless - allies within 3x3 area get +2 to hit for next turn [1 mana 2 actions]

Leveling
Every time a player levels they gain: 1 skill point
1 attribute point
1D6 1/4 hearts

Experience (EXP) - this determines your players level. Players are awarded EXP for all types of activities from combat, trading, crafting, using skills, diplomacy with NPC’s
For our game we are using a doubling level system
Lvl 1 - 0 xp
Lvl 2 - 20 xp
Lvl 3 - 40 xp
And so forth

Anything I want to do that is not defined in the rules......

73E062EA-27DC-4C6F-812E-D26F90B81BA3.jpeg

AE6A256C-6BEA-40C4-8046-06C2ABA34F65.jpeg

Sort:  

This sounds so interesting, @simplegame. As I said in comment on @doctorworm's curation post, I wish I was a gamer. ;)

Resteeming so I can remember to return and read up all the rules to see if I can join either this or your other game.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you for stopping by.
Look forward to playing with you

how can I play..? looks interesting

Reply to our current posting with your character and I will make you a character card.
The current posting is:

https://steemit.com/steemquest/@simplegame/steemquest-myster-of-the-key-part-3

Here is an example post of a player joining:

06C10BAD-5683-4DEA-8CEF-36663C987286.jpeg

Looking forward to playing with you

I’m really loving the custom made character chards. That really sets this apart from anything else I’ve seen on steemit where they play a turn based game. It is a nice visual that gives all the detail you need within it. I really like how you added a heart image with the weapons as well to indicate from my understanding how much damage a weapon causes or how much an armor piece protects you from.

While I do like how you certain information was turned images I feel not all of it is needed for that. I do see if someone wants to just Alt+ F to run a search on say find the Staff to quickly look it up. That information is an image so they can't. While right now that is not a big issues. If this game ends up turning into 100’s of items and other details that players might need to look up that could be.

Since this post is the core rules and you will be linking out to it so players can read it. In the long run it might be useful to try and included as much possible with written format for easy searching.

Just so it pops out more on the page it might be helpful to have each section using a bigger text header.

Example:

New Players

New Players

New Players

New Players

I much prefer the first one. Really makes each section stand out. Right now you are just using bolding with the double asterisk instead of the number sign to make it a header.

Other than that it looks great! I hope you guys have lots of fun.

I really appreciate the time you spent reading this and commenting.

The searchable for keywords is great feedback.
The # sign for header is something I forgot about. i will try it out.

Glad you enjoy the character cards. I am trying to build this out and make it stand out.

(Following from Enjar's comment)
Yes, believe it or not, many people ignore the need for visuals in a game, so you're one good step ahead. While writing the core rules another good thing to do is fill with examples, if you want I can help with that no problem. Examples on how to create characters, how to pick skills, how dice are rolled and how rolls affect things, etc...

One thing I saw in the original ruleset that I don't know if you've expanded yet is the fact that skills and equipment don't scale with your stats. For example, a 6 mind character should have more magical power than a 2 mind character, same with Str. You could make some skills depend on the personality stat as well, for example an encourage skill that increases attack and dodge in + 2 until the end of the next turn, or something like that, just a few ideas.

Another thing that I've seen on other games and that might be good to add is different skill costs. Instead of having 1 point, you get 10 or 15 points and some skills cost 3, 5, 20, 50 points, apart from the skill tree itself.

The ultimate goal you'll need as far as rules go is to make a game bible in word, with good indexes and headers so that players can quickly skip to a section they don't know much about and learn how it works; however... writing a game bible is a long and TIRING job, so don't rush it and work little by little. Cheers.

I will take any help. I don’t feel this is a one man show.
I know once you release something it becomes everyone’s. So I would gladly take any help.

As far as scaling. I have a little different view for this game.
Example: the higher your mind the more mana you have. Different spells use different amounts of mana. Stronger spells use more mana / actions.
Mind is a requirement to use items.

So in short I want the higher mind to give more power and more items you can unlock. I want items to help you customize, I know this is not popular but it is a system I want to try and work out,

That is why I am building out skills and items right now, I want players to try different things. Like a warrior that has acces to one fireball per combat before he runs out of mana.

I agree with the game bible, this is a baby step in a big endeavor.

And yes working on personality skills ..

Oh wait for the scaling point... take a look at empowered missle that I added to the rules. (In this post) is that along the lines you were thinking.

Yes, it's not popular but not a bad system by any means, however there needs to be a delicate line there as well... because a 6 mind empowered missile could do ridiculous amount of damage compared to a swing from a warrior. I agree that warriors shouldn't be able to cast much, most warriors or like minded characters will have 1 or 2 points in mind only. The thing is that such a low mind is usually a problem when resisting magical attacks or mind related stuff. Some people also like to play some kind of mage knight, that empowers themselves with some enchanted weapon or armor before taking the front.

How about you make an excel on google docs and give authorization to edit one or two pages of the excel to some trusted users so they add skills or items to the list and you check them out later? That way people can contribute with the ideas they have and information can flow more quickly... you can also create a discord server for this as well, to focus on points that need discussion, you could make channels for each core rule, so that people voted and made suggestions to what changes could be done... it's a starting point if you'd like some help instead of taking the one man army approach :D so you can focus more on the story and quests.

I agree with the delicate balance line.
You make great points.
I have been toying with the idea of a discord for a few days.
Sorry for short reply,.. running off to work


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

What a neat idea. RPGs are fun. I barely have time to do basic things. If I don't get time to actually check this out, I will send gamers I know to check it out. @bengy have you seen this??

Thank you any support is appreciated.

You're very welcome

This looks interesting! I might take a look into it when I get home from holidays!

Looking forward to it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62858.15
ETH 3112.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90