The Year of the Mutant Walnuts

in #plants6 years ago

We have two walnut trees in our front yard. One is about thirty feet high and the younger one is about twenty feet.
20180828_095723 (2).jpg
The younger is looking a little straggly the year.
20180828_095801 (2).jpg
But what is interesting is what's coming off the big tree. We get a pretty good harvest off these two every other year, But not being big nut fans we usually invite neighbors or friends to come get all they want. Besides, they a pain to open and get the meat out of.
This year there are so many walnuts that the branches are hanging down into the driveway. One evening as I drove in, I notice two peculiar walnuts. They were mutant.

One is a double
20180823_150244 (2).jpg
20180823_150303 (2).jpg

But the more interesting one is the triple
20180827_121614 (2).jpg
20180827_121603 (2).jpg
I'm waiting for them to dry to see if the nuts inside are also bound together. I don't know if I will try to open them and taste the meat. I might turn into an alien: because.... we're in Roswell.

Sort:  

Please let us know what happens! Especially if you turn into aliens!!!

If I turn into an alien you may need the translation app :-D

Interspecies Communication is my specialty! If I can't figure it out, I will ask the plants to translate for me!

Those will be interesting! Walnuts are definitely for kids or people with OCD, as a kid, my grandmother had a tree and we ate plenty. Sometimes my grandmother would also set me to work with a brick shelling a bunch for her. It did get painful

We also have two pecan trees in our back yard. One year I spent three hours with my mom shelling pecans to get about 5lbs. Not fun.

Congratulations @roswellrockman! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

In Cyprus from the walnut (not ripe) make jam.
It is very tasty !!!
Do it only in the villages, grandmothers.
Young people do not do this, unfortunately ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23