When Spider Plants Bloom

in #plants7 years ago

People are usually shocked when I mention that my spider plant had flowers on it. But it's true! When I was 10 years old, my Aunt had a humongous spider plant hanging in a hanging pot. It had babies and grandbabies and great grandbaby plants hanging down in a breathtaking display by the window. During our visit, she walked over and took two baby plants off of her Mother plant, and gave one to my Mom, her sister, and the other plant, to me.
Fast forward 27 years... Yes, I still have the spider plant. It has produced offshoots like the one I point out in this picture. As the offshoots grow, flower buds form all along the shoot. And when they open, they look like this...

The flowers don't last long, so enjoy them while you can! In the spot where each flower dies, a baby spider plant can form along the offshoot. Each baby plant will produce its' own baby roots. You can either let them grow and stay connected to the Mother plant, or pop one off easily and plant it in a little plastic cup for give away presents to friends who like plants. I like to use clear plastic cups for spider plants, and the reason why is simple: With a clear cup, you can watch the roots grow, and when the roots look cramped, you know it's time to replant it in a larger pot. Spider plants are easy to care for, and a great gift for children to teach patience and responsibility. It's a strong and resilient sort of plant, that, if you forget to water it for a week, it's okay. So this is a great first plant to start with if you've not grown houseplants before.
An important side note here: Be careful to not let too much high intensity sunlight hit spider plants. I tried putting it in higher light before, but some of the leaves burnt badly when that happened, and I had to move it back to a spot that was more protected. Other varieties may or may not react that way. I just know my spider plant. It has been with me for most of my life. Through the years, people have been excited to get this kind of plant as a gift, and they have found its' name to be cool. No, I do not have any spiders in my spider plant!! Don't worry. The reason why it is named this way, is due to the monocot shaped leaves all around the pot they are in, as it's like a spider having a ton of green legs. I've always loved my spider plant. And I hope others will learn about this plant and enjoy it too.

Sort:  

i've never seen a sprouted spidey flower before! cool post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57