Enemy sighted (mealy bug? from jade plant)

in #plants6 years ago


My new and only Jade plant started to have some wrinkles and drying on it's leaves just after a week or so. After some research i first thought it might be from overwatering though i tried to be careful. Today i found some little wooly stuff on the trunk and found a little scab under a leaf. So i picked it up and inspected it more closely. I guess this is a mealy bug. I picked a bunch of them off from the plant and sprayed it with some cleaning spray - then did a quick rinse under hot water.. I don't know if that was so smart but i thought i'd give it a try. I don't know so much about plant care so you definitely don't want to do what i do. I also ended up cutting away some branches and leaves for propagation.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Are you talking about Crassula ovata commonly known as a friendship tree or lucky tree or maybe money tree found in South Africa one of my relative had but the tree dint survive maybe because of the climatic condition of India..

By the way Sir do check out my new blog its on "Big Fat Indian Wedding" Indian Wedding cultures rituals and their is a small success story of mine do read much love

Yes, Crassula Ovata has many names, also money plant but translates as money tree in finnish. I see pants can be very tricky i've had not much success keeping them before. I suppose it wouldn't do so well in climate here either if i stuck it outside :P
Congrats on your success

tha'ts the worst, i'm sorry. nothing like a new plant falling apart. i love plants, and i grow them by instinct, i dont know that much about them. in my experience jade's are a very hardy plant, you can grow a new one from a healthy leaf in a new pot. i would also try not watering it for awhile, jades can survive with minimal water, they store it in their leaves. i would bet that a jade would outlast any bugs with no water coming in.

im sorry your plant is having trouble, i hope it has a speedy recovery!

Thank you. I read the same and i hope the best. I did end up making some heavy cutting but it doesn't look to bad so far and i'll just be keeping close eye on it.

We have got a huge money tree but it's always stuggling and leaves are fallig. I've tried to wet it enough -but not too much, but I have no idea how much and often is enough. The struggle has been going on for like a year! Anyway there it is in the corner of our livingroom suffering and probably dyeing soon.. Hopefully you have better skills and can take care of yours long.

from what i gather, you are suppose to let the soil dry out almost completely between waterings and then water it thoroughly. if it is the same kind of plant. they say it is easy to care but i think is harder to wait than to do something. i hope yours will recover too.

Okay maybe mine is just too dry, or maybe the pot it's in, is too small or something. I've also heard that you should change the soil/mold in spring so maybe I should try that to recover it.

Warning! This user is on my black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
To get off this list, please chat with us in the

#steemitabuse-appeals / https://steemil.com/steemprojects/@noisy/ann-introducing-steemprojects-com-information-about-all-steem-projects-in-one-place
channel in
steemit.chat. / https://steemil.com/steemprojects/@noisy/ann-introducing-steemprojects-com-information-about-all-steem-projects-in-one-place

Beware of scam link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56