Foraging in my Yard for Burdock Roots for Dinner

in #plants4 years ago


burd1.JPG

Arctium Lappa also known as Burdock is a biennial plant found in North America and around the world that can be foraged year-round. The roots are best eaten on the first year before the stored nutrients are used to grow its stalk.


burd3.JPG

They grow very deep, and they're hard to get out. I think we destroyed a lot at Grama's house and remarked how tough they were.


burd4.JPG

@Drutter and I thought they were just weeds at first. We didn't realize they were edible and medicinal .


burd5.JPG

I felt quite in touch with my roots foraging on my land for edible food. The next level would be to cook them on the campfire.


burd6.JPG

We settled for a stirfry with green beans from the garden and local (actually local) produce.


burd7.JPG

Happy Lammastide. May your harvest be bountiful and you enjoy the sun.


burd8.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87