Huge Plant Sale - San DiegosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #plants7 years ago

Imgur

I am a long time member and also a board member of the San Diego Chapter of the California Rare Fruit Growers. Some of our members are amazing propagators and super generous. Nevin loves all kinds of tropical fruit and has been a major donator for our club.

Here he is talking about some of the plants we will have for sale this Saturday, November 4th.

The sale is something you shouldn't miss if you live anywhere close. Some of the plants we have, I haven't even heart of :)

Like black goji berries - didn't know they exist.

And I will be able to replace the cashew tree one of my bad, bad gophers ate!!

Here is a partial plant list:
Ackee

chocolate

vanilla

snake fruit

soursop are 5’ tall

a chocolate that’s 8’

Cashews are 4’

Ackee 4-5’

papaya plants with fruit on them

pineapple

Various grapes

Various fig

Freedom black berries

Blue berries

Grafted cherimoya

Hood pear

Various pomegranate

Dragon fruit

Avocado

Coffee

Peanut butter fruit

Rose Apple

Pineapple loquats

Lucian

Surinam cherry

Lucoma

Various root stock

Moringa

And much more

Here is Paul helping to unload the truck - that was just part of Nevin's donation....

Imgur

If you don't live here and have friends in San Diego - please let them know. These plants are almost impossible to buy locally.

The sale will be at the Bancroft Center for Sustainability

3845 Spring Dr., Spring Valley, CA 91977

off Highway 94 - Bancroft exit.

Sort:  

Wow awesome, I don't even know some of these fruits exist.

If I were anywhere near there, I'd be there! What a super amazing collection of plants!

Yes! Nevin is pretty impressive. He donates some great plants to the chapter on a regular basis. Some of them are too fussy for me, but all good!

That would be awesome to go to! I hope that it works out well!

Thanks!! I am going to try to score some black goji berries for you. Never even knew they existed. Nevin grows crazy stuff. When you have your greenhouse, I'll fill it up :)

I got some seeds for those a while back, but they never sprouted. That would be amazing!

Please do! I'll be forever grateful!

Okay. I am on it :) And for a few minutes is good enough. Forever is such a long time :)

You should be tweeting this one like crazy with the sandiego hashtag. Also - check my twitlist for good sd contacts if you ever feel like you have the time to do that :)

I'm in Malaysia - just got back from the Thai Embassy and using the house computer at my hostel. I am hot and tired and will nap and then swim later - not posting unless I get a good spurt of energy.

Thank you!! I keep forgetting about Twitter :( . Rest up and happy swimming!!

Ooooh! I did not even hear about some plants

me neither :) some, I will have to grow just to see what kind of fruit they make :)

then be sure to show us the photos. very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43