Low Stress Training The Pepper Plant Is Working!

in #plants3 years ago

I've got an update on my Peruvian Yellow Chili Pepper plant that I was practicing some low stress training on, which is typically used for cannabis growing. As it turns out the test seems to be working out quite well in my quest to experiment with growing peppers.

Here we have the plant from a month ago from when I first started to tie it down. Near the base of the plant (near the roots) there was a shoot growing extremely quickly. The plant looked a bit off and I didn't want to cover it's future leaves to cover the smaller pepper plant in the pot. Eventually, I decided to prune that part of the plant so that it would help grow the other shoots evenly while also not deterring the smaller plant from growing.

update peruvian yellow chili.jpg

In this new image you can see that the plant really started taking off, there are five strong shoots that are pointing upwards, with one or two smaller ones that likely won't grow as quickly. So far it seems as if my little experiment is a success. There are even some flowers that are just now forming, which is signaling the plant that it may be time to grow some pods. I am very tempted to pinch them off to promote more growth, but I think now is a good time to let it run its natural course. The plant is really close to the mulch at the bottom so if the produce gets less than an inch close to touching it, then I will harvest those ones immediately to avoid any form of disease.

It's been quite an adventure so far, but it doesn't stop here. Let's hope I get a LOT of peppers when its time to harvest!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow my channel for future updates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66