Polk Sallat for supper?

in #plants7 years ago

100_1174.JPG
If you live in the rural parts of the South you know all about Polk Sallat. Sometimes called Polk Salad or Polkweed. I think it has a great taste, better than Spinach to me. Pick the leaves off the stem and boil leaves then rinse and cook in bacon fat with eggs. It does produce a berry that the birds love. I think the berries are poisonous so don't eat them.

Sort:  

Sounds delicious! Although you could probably cook up my shoe with bacon and eggs. Dim the lights just a smidge and I'd woof half it down before I asked what the laces were.

That's funny, Thanks for the comment

If it tastes like baby spinach I would try it.

I love the stuff. Has a kind of sweet taste to me. I never cook it myself but my Mom cooks up some for me every Spring. She's about 90 and she knows how it's done.

Sounds like it would be good in a salad or on a ham and cheese sandwich.

I don't know, it might kill you if you eat it uncooked

Oh, I'll let your mom make it then.

I boil the root and make a tea that I put on my poison ivy to calm the itching.

I have never heard that before, thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36