#PlantGrowth

in #plantgrowth7 years ago

For this #plantgrowth snapshot I had a look at the trees I kept in the greenhouse over the winter as these ones don't like freezing.

Kumquat. Seems to do ok, at least it survived the worst of the winter so far. There is something eating the leaves, kept looking for the bad guys but couldn't find em.
20180204_163128.jpg

This is a kumquat and I-can't-remember-what hybrid. Again, something munched on the leaves.
20180204_163134.jpg

A little olive tree; I think I'll have to do some hard pruning to encourage thickening of the trunk.
20180204_163104.jpg

And the little sycamore as a bonus. The first true leaves are finally showing.
20180204_163004.jpg

Cheers

Sort:  

So great!! New plant growth and the idea of the coming growing helps on these cold winter days! (it is -30C at my house right now....)

Thanks!
-30, ouch! We had another frost last night but nowhere near that. I think we hit -5. When your last frost usually?

Our last frost is generally the last few weeks of May. We are in the clear to plant in the dirt at the start of June.

That's so late... Everyone's complaining about British weather, but we got no hard frosts heh.

It’s interesting... how can this sycamore be used? I don’t think it has edible fruits... or you only want to plant it in your garden?

Oh, I'm not growing it for any purpose really, heh. The seed flew through the window on one of my rosemary plants in the window sill and it sprouted there. It tried so hard so I didn't want to kill it and just gave it its own pot. I will try to grow it in some funky shape, see if I can turn it into a cool potted plant.

Great! A little sycamore bonsai!

When I was a kid I loved gardening, now I miss to do that so much! :)

I'm the opposite; as a kid I did all I could do get out of gardening jobs. Now... I love it, heh!

Haha, it's never too late!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77