The Solar System

in #planets4 years ago


image credit: Pixabay

The solar system comprises of a lot of things, asteroids, planets and their various or singular satellites etc. The solar system in which we live in is quite a beautiful one and is home to so many fascinating things. First of all, the center of every solar system is its star, just like ours which we call the sun. 

The sun holds everything to it with the power of a gravitational force. This gravitational force is responsible for holding Earth and many other planets in place. Where the gravity of the sun puts each planet is very important to the conditions of these planets. Earth for example is the third planet from the sun and position us very critical to the billions of lives on the planet. 

Once the Earth shifts just a little closer to the sun, its atmospheric temperature increases greatly and this could lead to the scorching of the planet. If the planet moves a little away the sun, the atmospheric pressure drops and this could lead to a total freeze and death of every living thing living on it. There are eight planets in our solar system which excludes Pluto as a planet, Pluto was disregarded as a planet due to its little characteristics which all planets possess.

image credit: Pixabay

The eight planets are; Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

Mercury is the closest planet to the sun and with the exclusion of Pluto as a planet it is the smallest planet. Its distance from the Sun is 57.91 million km and revolves around the sun in 87.97 days.

Venus is the second closest planet to the sun and revolves around it in 223 days. It’s known as the hottest planet and is regarded as Earths twin because they share similarities in shape, size and density.

Earth is the third planet from the sun and is called the Beautiful Jewel of the solar system. It revolves round the sun in 365.26 days and has one satellite. It’s said be over 4.5 billion years old and is the only planet known to support life in the solar system.

image credit: Pixabay

Mars also known as the red planet, is the fourth planet from the sun, it is said to be the second smallest planet and is approximately half the diameter of the Earth. It is one of the planets which could possibly hold living beings in the future to come.

Jupiter is the fifth planet from the sun and is also regarded as the largest planet in the solar system. It revolves around the sun in 11.862 years and has 69 satellites.

Saturn is the sixth planet from the sun and it is the second largest planet in the solar system. It revolves around the sun in 29.4571 years and has 62 known satellites. Its most popular feature is its prominent ring system which are popularly known as the rings of Saturn.

image credit: Pixabay

Uranus is the seventh planet from the sun, it revolves round the sun in 84.0205 years and is mostly composed of Gases. It is the third largest planet and is regarded or called the ICE GAINT.

Neptune is the eight planet from the sun, it is the farthest planet from the sun. Neptune orbits the sun in 164.8 years and has 14 known satellites.

So when you look at our solar system at large you realize we are unique in all the universe.


Hello @janrotas, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wow that is nice! Let me check it out!

Thank you for this great post, it is very informative !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.06
JST 0.025
BTC 19098.27
ETH 1342.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55